Sydney’s Daniel Neilson leads WSOP Paradise Main Event final table

Image courtesy of PokerNews

Sydney’s Daniel Neilson will take the chip lead into the final table of the WSOP Paradise Main Event as he closes in on his first WSOP bracelet and a US$2 million first prize.

Just days after finishing runner-up the $3k 6-handed event at Atlantis Paradise Island in the Bahamas, Neilson leads the seven remaining players from a massive starting field of 3,010 with a stack of 37,400,000 – well clear of next best Stanislav Zegal with 28,000,000.

It was a roller-coaster of a day for the long-time high-stakes crusher though, who was the tournament short-stack with two tables remaining before going on a tear late in the day. He eventually claimed the overall chip around an hour before the end of play when he flopped a set of 4s against the AK of veteran Matt Glantz on a K-high flop, with all the chips going in on the turn.

While he no longer calls Australia home, Neilson once dominated the local poker scene, winning and making multiple final tables nation-wide during the original poker boom, with a particular penchant for high-roller events.

Boasting almost US$3 million in live tournament winnings before this week, his resume includes victories in the ANZPT Sydney $10k High Roller in 2009, in the Sydney Champs $10k High Roller in 2010, in the 2010 Western Poker Classic (Perth) Main Event, in the ANZPT Perth $4k High Stakes in 2011, in the $2k PCA No Limit Hold’em in the Bahamas in 2014, in the Sydney Champs $5k Challenge in 2015, in the $3k High Roller Event at The Championships in Sydney in 2015, in the $5k Challenge at the Australian Poker Challenge in Sydney in 2015 … not to mention an Aussie Millions ring in a $2.5k Shot Clock event, also in 2015.

Despite that impressive resume, which doesn’t even include dozens of final table finishes, victory in tomorrow’s WSOP Paradise Main Event would present a new career high for this unassuming Aussie.

WSOP Paradise Main Event Final table chip counts:

1Michael SklenickaCzech Republic16,000,000
2Matt GlantzUSA15,500,000
3Stanislav ZegalGermany28,000,000
4Gabriel SchroederBrazil28,000,000
5Montgomery McQuadeUK4,900,000
6Rui SousaPortugal20,700,000
7Daniel NeilsonAustralia37,400,000

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.