Gavin Flynn wins WPT Australia Shane Warne One Day Perpetual Trophy

Ireland’s Gavin Flynn has dashed the hopes of the Aussie contingent to take down one of the flagship events of WPT Australia 2023 – the Shane Warne One Day Perpetual Trophy.

Flynn topped a field of 296 starters to cap off what he would later describe as one of the “top 3” results of his career, surviving a roller-coaster of a final table and a 5-way ICM deal before eventually defeating Ian Bobbin heads-up.

Although he didn’t know too much about the man who the trophy is named after, Flynn did express his pleasure at being involved in an event that incorporated a charity, with all rake from the event going to Currumbin Wildlife Sanctuary.

His run began midway through the day’s play when he turned a wheel holding A2 on a 3584 board, then on the very next hand scored another huge pot holding pocket rockets to soar into the chip lead.

He took a strong chip lead into the final table, fell to a 3:1 deficit heads-up, but turned the tables over the course of a few hands to secure victory.

Final table placings:

1stGavin Flynn$44,676* 
2ndIan Bobbin$27,600* 
3rdYeshan Jayasuriya$25,733* 
4thMatt Morris$20,282*
5thCleber Piccone$20,218* 
6thVlad Barbu$9,425 
7thNeil Moss$7,933 
8thIlavenil Arumugam$6,512 
9thAlice Telea$5,210 
* After ICM deal

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.