Making his mark: Alex Markopoulos wins Stacked Poker Championship Super High Roller

After a gruelling 13-hour day and a relentless final table battle, Alex Markopoulos emerged victorious and claimed his first major title, defeating Mata Ye heads-up in the Stacked Poker Championship Super High Roller.

The relative newcomer, who has only recorded two other results on The Hendon Mob up until the early hours of Saturday morning, defeating a record field of 98 entries to win the $100,000 guaranteed first prize.

The result also eclipsed Markopoulos’ previous best, which was a $10,000 payday after he finished seventh in the Stacked Poker Championship Main Event last May.

The final table of the $4,000 buy-in tournament also featured Australian Poker Hall of Famers Gary Benson and Jono Karamalikis, along with Melburnian Marco Perri, who is quickly making a name for himself in the Aussie poker scene with a string of deep runs in recent months.

STACKED POKER CHAMPIONSHIP SUPER HIGH ROLLER ($4,000 buy-in, 98 entries, 12 players paid)

1stAlex Markopoulos$100,000
2ndMata Ye$67,000
3rdMarco Perri$38,600
4thGary Benson$32,300
5thJono Karamalikis$27,000
6thDavid Sun$21,600
7thP.P. Huang$18,000
8thJin Li$14,400
9thPierre Aoukar$11,800
10thGarry Lin$9,425
11thEmanuel ‘Curly’ Seal$9,425
12thGavin Best$9,425

Last night also saw the completion of the first of three Main Event flights, with 25 players having bagged up after Day 1A was locked out at 70 total entries. Truc La finished the night as overall chip leader, bagging up 32,000, with Yoon Kang with 315,000.

Nick Borrillo (210,000), Jin Li (199,500) and Ben Tieu (195,000) rounded out the top five; previous Main Event Champions Michael Haddad and Joe Sandaev have also advanced to Day 2, along with Australian Poker Hall of Famer Billy ‘The Croc’ Argyros and reigning GPI Australian Player of the Year, Yita Choong.


Truc La329,000
Yoon Kang315,000
Nick Borrillo210,000
Jin Li199,500
Ben Tieu195,000
Michael Haddad172,500
Ryan Hong166,000
Huey Lam159,000
Kenny Wang157,500
Jamie Pham150,000
Mike Gainer145,500
Joe Sandaev133,500
Adam Cusenza129,000
Chris Edgar126,000
Yita Choong108,500
Tony Xu103,000
Mata Ye96,000
Billy ‘The Croc’ Argyros94,000
Manny Rodriguez89,000
Max Chea87,000
Elliott Esca81,000
Armon Van Wijk74,000
Hayden Russell68,500
Mitchell Reid58,000
Jerry Zhang49,000

The Stacked Poker Championship Main Event continues today with a Day 1 double-header; follow PokerMedia Australia’s Live Reporting coverage by clicking here.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.