Done deal: 2022 WSOP Circuit Gold Coast results round-up

Image courtesy of The Star Gold Coast

As the World Series of Poker (WSOP) Circuit Gold Coast Main Event reached its crescendo, four more winners were crowned, capping off a memorable series that also served as a fitting end to an incredible year for Australian poker. Here’s our final round-up of event results, with special thanks once again to our friends at The Star Gold Coast.

$1,100 PLO: Vo the vanquisher

After starting Day 2 as chip leader, Ami Asif was denied victory in his heads-up battle against Patrick Vo, with the pair shaking hands on an ICM chop before Vo went on to claim his first WSOP Circuit ring.

WPT Australia $550 PLO Champion Leo Kamiya finished in third place, with Daniel Laidlaw, Jymmi Briggs and German ex-pat Martin Finger amongst those to have reached the final table.

Image courtesy of The Star Gold Coast

2022 WSOP CIRCUIT GOLD COAST $,100 PLO ($1,100 buy-in, 199 entries, 30 players paid)

1stPatrick Vo$34,398*
2ndAmi Asaf$45,000*
3rdLeo Kamiya$21,230
4thAaron Shaw$15,300
5thDaniel Laidlaw$11,213
6thMartin Finger$8,396
7thJun Wang$6,426
8thJymmi Briggs$5,030
9thWilliam Kennedy$4,028
*Denotes heads-up deal.

$10K Super High Roller: Gan gets it done

Haozhe Gan continued the trend of breakthrough victories, fending off Singapore”s Alex Lee in the closing stages of the $10K Super High Roller to claim his first major live tournament victory, following up from a deep run the $5K High Roller earlier in the series.

The final table was comprised of some of the biggest names on the Australian poker scene, including Adam Kharman, Kiavash Arbabi and 2019 WSOP Main Event 11th place finisher, Sean Ragozzini.

Image courtesy of The Star Gold Coast

2022 WSOP CIRCUIT GOLD COAST $10K SUPER HIGH ROLLER ($10,000 buy-in, 71 entries, 11 players paid)

1stHaozhe Gan$190,224*
2ndAlex Lee$160,000*
3rdRory Young$89,948
4thJosh McCully$62,667
5thAdam Kharman$45,299
6thSean Ragozzini$34,021
7thShivan Abdine$26,587
8thKiavash Arbabi$21,657
9thJanet Wyvill$18,419
*Denotes heads-up deal.

$660 Double Shot Action Clock: Da Costa dominates

Shortly after the conclusion of the Main Event, the final table of the $660 Double Shot Action clock was reached, boasting another star-studded line-up that featured Elise Depauw, Bert Perry, and Dean Blatt.

However, it was New Caledonia’s own Florian Da Costa who defeated Shu Yih Ng heads-up for his first major poker championship title and $34,000 in prize money.

Image courtesy of The Star Gold Coast

2022 WSOP CIRCUIT GOLD COAST $660 DOUBLE SHOT ACTION CLOCK ($660 buy-in, 216 entries, 42 players paid)

1stFlorian Da Costa$34,000
2ndShu Yih Ng$28,534
3rdDean Blatt$16,915
4thBert Perry$12,196
5thWayne Clinch$8,956
6thYann Del Rey$6,700
7thElise Depauw$5,109
8thTodor Kondevsi$3,972
9thEdwin Chu$3,150

$550 Finale: Thaggard FTW!

Closing out the series was the $550 Finale, which brought in 216 entries for a total prize pool of $108,000; three-time WPT League Champion Adam Thaggard added his first WSOP ring to the collection after defeating Troy McLean heads-up for $25,960 in prize money – his biggest tournament score to date.

Image courtesy of The Star Gold Coast

2022 WSOP CIRCUIT GOLD COAST $550 FINALE ($550 buy-in, 216 entries, 33 players paid)

1stAdam Thaggard$25,960
2ndTroy McLean$16,043
3rdWei Zhu$11,337
4thPat Pannucio$8,170
5thMisaki Tominaga$6,006
6thJerome Hickel$4,506
7thAdam Agresta$3,452
8thKim MacNaught$2,701
9thMichel Bouskila$2,159

The WSOP International Circuit continues with its series at the Enjoy Punta del Este in Uruguay, before moving to the Deerfoot Inn & Casino in Calgary, Canada. Visit for more information, and be sure to check out for the latest on their regular tournaments and upcoming events.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.