Knowledge is power: Peter Luo leads after Day 1C of WSOP Circuit Gold Coast Main Event

Peter Luo has reaped the rewards of his study and commitment to the game, finishing on top of the counts after Day 1C of the World Series of Poker (WSOP) Circuit Gold Coast Main Event.

The electrical engineering student and cash game grinder ended the night with 478,000 in chips, edging out Jeison Berdugo for the chip lead out of the 85 players who advanced to Day 2.

After taking up the game at the start of the global pandemic almost three years ago, Luo has been putting in the hard yards to improve his poker knowledge, and has fully embraced the WSOP experience.

“It’s so exciting to be here!” Luo told PokerMedia Australia. “I almost didn’t come here after I fired one bullet yesterday, but my friend encouraged me … and I’m so happy that I did.”

“I’m a very competitive person, I don’t like to lose, but after I lost a lot of money, I studied really hard … my VPIP was like 93% back then compared to how I play now.”

The 2022 WSOP Circuit Gold Coast Main Event was officially locked out at 1,001 total entries, generating a total prize pool of $2,252,250, which includes and estimated $380,000 for first.

2022 WSOP CIRCUIT GOLD COAST MAIN EVENT – DAY 1B CHIP COUNTS (406 entries, 85 survivors)

Peter Luo478,000
Jeison Berdugo472,500
Martin Ward425,000
Marc Seymour418,500
Paul Tartak399,500
Deborah James394,500
John Iskra380,000
Norman Mirza373,500
Jarrod Thatcher370,000
Karam Bahi361,500
Roy Agresta350,000
Bert Perry349,000
Sung Ki Cho346,000
Najeem Ajez341,500
Jan Kossyrev319,000
Corey Kempson286,500
Mark Yazbek281,000
Robert Kwan277,000
Josh McCully259,500
Po Hu252,000
Wilson Luong250,500
Slav Rypinski248,500
Scott Wilson247,500
Monil Gohil243,500
Rahul Rastogi240,000
Vanig Kalpakian240,000
Joe Sandaev236,000
Xin Qi220,000
Rodni Kisar219,500
Matt Ginn219,000
Anthony Cierco212,500
Weh Zhu200,500
Jennifer Cassell199,000
Siana O’Loughlin194,500
Phillip Stamler192,000
Chad Awerbuch190,500
Dejan Boskovic184,500
Luke Trevanion183,500
Jethro Horowitz177,000
Yan Wen Yee175,500
Yang Lei170,500
Joshua Foster168,500
Michael Tran162,000
David W Clark159,500
Tino Lechich159,000
Michael Frydman158,000
Josh Summers156,000
Peter Apostolou155,000
Zheming Zhu151,500
Luke Irving151,000
Shivan Abdine150,000
Lloyd Locsin148,500
Ryan matthews140,500
Ming Yiu135,500
Qi Xu130,000
Jonathon Levy120,500
Harleigh Thorpe117,000
Coleen Fish117,000
Sherif Derias115,000
Craig Abernethy114,500
Nathan Susnig109,500
Todor Kondevski106,500
Sailendra Sha103,000
Michel Bouskila98,000
Martin Finger94,000
Elton Muzha94,000
Mao Sun92,000
Paul Donovan88,000
Michael Clair87,000
Justin Cohen84,000
Edwin Chiu84,000
Adam Cusenza83,000
Mick Gavrilovic82,000
Magnus Iversen76,000
Sean Ragozziani73,000
Carlos Youssef69,000
Michael Kanaan68,500
James Siu66,000
Fletcher Smith65,500
Jim Giannoukos63,500
Adam Albarri56,000
Guangyu Wang55,500
Zhi Hong Ma49,000
Yann Del Rey46,000
Mereana Moana35,000

PokerMedia Australia’s Live Reporting coverage continues tomorrow (Sunday) from 11:30am AEST; for more information on the WSOP Circuit Gold Coast series, log onto

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.