What’s in a name: Zhifan Ye bags chip lead after Day 1B of WSOP Circuit Gold Coast Main Event

New-gen poker prodigy Zhifan Ye has emerged as the overall chip leader after another incredible day of action in the World Series of Poker (WSOP) Circuit Gold Coast Main Event.

The South Australian bagged up 574,500 in chips, followed by Darren Li on 528,500, with Tom Maguire (526,000), Glen Parkes (463,500) and Chris Colaneri (446,500) completing the top five out of the 63 survivors that advanced to Day 2 on Sunday.

During his post-match interview with PokerMedia Australia, Ye revealed that he has only been playing poker for about two years; in that time, ‘Mata’ has already amassed more than $100,000 in live tournament cashes, including victory in the $1,150 buy-in High Roller at the Matchroom Poker Challenge, and a final table appearance in the WPT Australia $10K High Roller, also hosted at The Star Gold Coast.

And coincidentally, the 24-year-old shares the same surname as Day 1A chip leader and WSOP $5K High Roller Champion, Sheng Ye, who like Zhifan is also a self-confessed “cash game specialist”.

2022 WSOP CIRCUIT GOLD COAST MAIN EVENT – DAY 1B CHIP COUNTS (326 entries, 63 survivors)

Zhifan ‘Mata’ Ye574,500
Darren Li528,500
Tom Maguire526,000
Glen Parkes463,500
Chris Colaneri446,500
Zien Tang391,000
Micheal Hill385,500
John Apostolidis385,000
Malcom Trayner345,000
Chris Mantell341,000
Ned Namrood324,000
Adrian Sportelli318,000
Michael Tchong300,000
Owen Chong270,000
Jai Duffy260,000
George Psarras259,500
Kelvin Li257,000
Tu Christopher Tran255,000
Liam Jehu244,500
Haozhe Gan233,500
Michelle Psarras230,000
Joseph Antar226,000
Wei Chung225,500
James Broom222,000
Ali Ghezelbash219,000
Michael Rattigan214,500
George Kyritis198,500
Jin Li194,000
Ben Harrison192,500
Jessy Song185,500
John Doringer180,000
Timothy Royle179,000
Daniel Smiljanic174,000
Tristan Bain172,000
Meer Hussaini160,500
George Frilingos160,500
Chris Costanzo154,000
Suraj Kara141,500
Marc Liddell140,000
Ashish Gupta139,500
Peter Dykes137,000
Brandon Bailey133,500
Jason Yu132,000
Craig Blight131,500
Seyed Hosseini128,000
Brian Walsh126,500
Andrej Senic126,500
Gavin Best125,000
David Sebesfi117,500
Xiaoting Lu114,000
Jason Lau105,500
Michael Gross99,500
Kyrillos Gerges96,500
Bailey Todd80,500
Jarred Graham80,000
Alexander Alford77,500
Alan Dang76,000
Yu Chen71,000
Andrew Menzies47,000
Jim Doumit45,500
Rommel Rico44,000
Billy ‘The Croc’ Argyros42,500
Connie Graham32,500

PMA‘s Live Reporting coverage continues with Day 1C of the WSOP Circuit Gold Coast Main Event from 12:30pm AEST tomorrow (Saturday); be sure to follow us here for all the updates, images and results, along with bonus content available via Discord, Facebook, Instagram, Twitter and YouTube.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.