Hands up: History rewritten at 2022 Deaf Poker Australia Championship series

Last week’s Deaf Poker Australia (DPA) Championship series has captured the hearts and minds of the entire poker community, making its triumphant return after a three-year hiatus.

Returning to The Star Sydney for the first time since it was last held there in 2013, the six-tournament series elevated the Southern Hemisphere’s biggest event of its kind to new heights, bringing in a total of $83,020 in series prize pools – more than double the previous record set in Perth back in 2019.

The 2022 DPA Championship series also delivered the full tournament experience for the Deaf and Hard-of-Hearing community, highlighted by the RFID feature table broadcasts for both the DPA State of Origin tournament and the DPA Championship Main Event.

Reigning champions New Zealand, captained by five-time DPA Championship Main Event final tablist Caleb Thorn, fought back to clinch a Kiwi three-peat after defeating the regional team of the S.E. Coast heads-up to win $4,200 in prize money, with South Australia finishing in third.

Baze Boskovski then became the fifth Victorian player in history to win the DPA Championship Main Event, defeating a field of 105 players to win the newly commissioned Sokong Kim Perpetual Trophy – named in honour of the organisation’s founder.

Boskovski defeated fellow Melburnian and two-time Victorian Deaf Poker Champion Bacel Dennaoui heads-up for the title, along with $4,764 in prize money after the pair agreed to an ICM deal.

2022 DPA CHAMPIONSHIP MAIN EVENT ($200 buy-in, 105 entries, 14 players paid)

1stBaze BozkovskiVictoria$4,764*
2ndBacel DennaouiVictoria$3,894*
3rdBrandon Van NiekerkVictoria$1,981
4thScott HellensVictoria$1,294
5thMark CarmodyQueensland$1,000
6thAdrian ChauNew South Wales$821
7thMarie WareWestern Australia$696
8thJake HarwoodVictoria$607
9thLloyd BrittonNew South Wales$536
10thBarry BondNew South Wales$473
11thDiane Ulrich-SmithNew South Wales$473
12thMark TheodossiouNew South Wales$473
13thMikey WilkieWestern Australia$419
14thBenjamin LowrieWestern Australia$419
*Denotes heads-up ICM deal.

In other results, Yang Cai became the first player in DPA history to win two trophies in the same series, taking out both the Auslan Poker Open Bounty and Turbo NLH events, while the duo of Vincent Wong and George Zhang emerged victorious in the Pairs Tag Team NLH tournament.

Three-time DPA major champion Adrick Martin then closed out the series with his biggest win ever, chopping three ways with runner-up Anthony Chan and third-place finisher Guiliano Nobili in the $675 6-Max to take home $8,443. Martin dedicated his win to his late cousin A.J., who sadly passed away two weeks ago.

The DPA Championship series is traditionally held in the month of October, and planning is now underway for the 2023 edition; for more information, including the full history and results from all major events, log onto www.deafpoker.com.au. Full feature table replays and official images are also available on the Deaf Poker Australia Facebook page.

DISCLOSURE: PokerMedia Australia‘s Landon Blackhall has served voluntarily as DPA’s Live Events Specialist from 2009; his tenure on the Board of Directors will end later this year, however he will continue to provide DPA support on a consultative basis.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.