History made: APL Million Main Event doubles $1M guarantee as Yita Choong wins Jackstar Super High Roller

The 2022 APL Million Main Event is now the most successful in Australian Poker League history, having more than doubled its original $1 million prize pool guarantee.

The $1,500 buy-in tournament at Southport Sharks was locked out last night at 1,658 entries, generating a total prize pool prize pool worth $2,155,400.

Tournament officials have confirmed that the top 175 players will be paid, with the eventual winner taking home a grand prize of $400,900.

The result is a clear indicator for the both the continued demand of major live events and a resounding vote of confidence from players in the APL from across the country, which has transformed its brand over the last two years via its mid-tier offering, the APL Poker Tour.

APL Major Events Director Joel Williams lauded the tremendous endeavour from all staff and franchisees in their contribution to what will undoubtedly be the richest tournament series ever held outside an Australian casino.

“Such an enormous Main Event field makes us feel so grateful for the vast amount of poker players who have travelled from all over the country and beyond to attend this series,” Williams said. “To generate 1,658 entries is truly remarkable … words cannot express how thankful we are.”

As the historic news was broken, Yita Choong closed out the Jackstar Super High Roller, defeating Eric Xu heads-up in a see-sawing battle to win $115,000 in prize money.

Choong was overwhelmed by the huge rush of some of poker’s biggest names running in to congratulate him in the wake of his well-earned victory, which adds to his fourth-place finish in this year’s WSOP Millionaire Maker, as well as a runner-up finish in last month’s Star Sydney Champs Main Event.

APL MILLION JACKSTAR SUPER HIGH ROLLER ($1,250 buy-in, 484 entries, 54 players paid)*

1stYita Choong$114,790*
2ndEric Xu$80,070*
3rdLuke Martinelli$46,320
4thAngel Guillen$35,140
5thJames Camilleri$25,560
6thQuan Dinh$20,230
7thQing Ye$15,970
8thTaner Ates$13,310
9thMitch Bognar$10,650
*Denotes heads-up deal; full results available at https://playapl.com/news/2022-apl-million-winner-results

The Jackstar was one of three tournaments that carried over into an extra day, with Mitch Bushell and Luke Kelleher emerging victorious in the Teams Event, while the Mini High Roller title was awarded to Joel Williams from Queensland (not to be confused with the aforementioned Joel Williams of Victoria).

Day 8 ended with another trophy heading out to WA with prolific Twitch streamer Travis Endersby, who took out the NLH 6-Max; Orlando Ceccenato won the Friday Freezeout, while John Manu took down the Crazy Pineapple.

PokerMedia Austraila’s continued coverage of The APL Million series will resume from 11:30am AEST today, featuring Live Reporting of Day 2 of the Main Event, alongside our social media updates on the APL Facebook page and feature table streaming available at PlayAPL.tv, courtesy of broadcast partners LCAPoker.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.