Sydney Champs to return in July

The Australian poker resurgence is set to gather steam next month with Star Poker announcing the long-awaited return of the Sydney Champs.

Back for the first time since 2019, this year’s series will feature 10 events across 13 days from 13 to 25 July at The Star Sydney, with an estimated series prize pool of around $4.5 million.

Headlining the series will be the $2,000 Main Event, running from Thursday 21 to Monday 25 July, with satellites starting from Tuesday 21 June.

However, just as anticipated will be the $1,000 Mystery Bounty starting on Tuesday 19 July – the first ever mystery bounty poker tournament to be held at The Star Sydney and only the second to be held in an Australian casino. The first, of course, will be held at The Star Gold Coast next week as part of the inaugural WPT Prime Gold Coast series.

Other highlights will include the always popular $750 Opening Event, an $880 PLO and the $5K High Roller.

First held in 2009, the list of winners of the Sydney Champs Main Event is a who’s who of the Australian poker scene with the likes of Jarred Graham (2009), Daniel Laidlaw (2013), Martin Kozlov (2014) and Kahle Burns (2016).


2009Jarred Graham$121,500 
2010Andrew Capelin$136,942 
2011Errolyn Strang$119,542 
2012Dean Yuen$127,133 
2013Daniel Laidlaw$165,000 
2014Martin Kozlov$171,080 
2015Ben Jee$200,634 
2016Kahle Burns$297,203 
2017Henry Tran$300,000 
2018Neb Blanusa$314,265 
2019Hamish Crawshaw$352,800 

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.