Kiavash Arbabi sweeps Broom to win 2020 APL Million main event

Sydney’s Kiavash Arbabi has produced the performance of his life to take down the 2020 APL Million main event at The Star Sydney and claim a life changing $315,000 payout.

Arbabi, whose total career earnings heading into the main event totaled $64,500, overcame a massive field of 1,404 players – smashing last year’s record of 1,294 players – and a tough heads-up opponent in James Broom to claim victory.

It was in fact Arbabi (10,900,000) and Broom (8,900,000) who entered the final table as clear chip leaders, well clear of Luke Collins in third with 4,600,000, but as the field was gradually whittled down it looked it was Broom who was destined to improve on his fifth-place finish in the 2018 APL Million.

As play entered heads-up, Broom held a solid 2:1 chip lead, but he couldn’t maintain the momentum when it mattered most and in the end it was Arbabi getting the job done.

This wasn’t Arbabi’s first noteworthy result. In 2017 he reached the final table of a No Limit Hold’em event at the 2017 Aussie Millions for $20,045 and later that same year won the High Roller event at the WPT League’s Quarterly Poker Championship for another $11,500. However, it was by far his most memorable.

With Arbabi’s win, the fourth annual APL Million has come to an end, having seen more than $3 million in prize money awarded over the course of the 10-event schedule, including a record main event prize pool of $1,755,000.

The next major series to take place at The Star will be the Sydney Championships, scheduled to run from 21 July to 10 August 2020.

2020 APL Million main event final table placings:

PositionNamePayout (AU$)
1stKiavash Arbabi$315,000
2ndJames Broom$185,000
3rdLuke Collins$138,000
4thJosh Norvack $105,000
5thBen Zhang$80,000
6thBradley Tojic $62,000
7thJohn Camilleri $48,000
8thGary Mills$37,500
9thScott Wilson$30,000

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.