NEWS: Usljebrka Crowned 2017 APL Million Champion

Branko Usljebrka wins 2017 APL Million
Branko Usljebrka wins 2017 APL Million

Wollongong’s Branko Usljebrka is the 2017 APL Million Main Event champion! After four days of tournament play, Usljebrka outlasted a field of 1,164 players to win the APL Million held at The Star in Sydney during the Star Poker Festival.

After his win, Usljebrka commented on how he felt: “…I am shocked! I can’t believe it. I never thought that this would happen. I normally play low buy-in tournaments. To come here and play in an event with such a big entry fee and so many great players and be able to win is amazing. The biggest live tournament I had played before this had a $100 buy in. I have played some other stuff online but nothing like this live.”

The final table of the main event saw seven players return on the final day to battle for the title. There were several accomplished players including Star Poker tournament regulars John Thompson and Sheldon Mayer, Adrian Attenborough – recent Macau Poker Cup winner for USD$193,172; and Martin Rowe – most famous for his 2008 APPT Sydney Main Event title that earned him $1m.

Adrian Attenborough and Martin Rowe came in as chip leaders on the final day with 11million and 9million in chips respectively. The rest of the field had around 2-3million to play with. Usljebreka began the day by eliminating John Thompson to give himself enough chips to be more dangerous, and then assumed the chip lead after a big clash with Rowe. Moments later he sent overnight chip leader Attenborough to the rail to enter heads-up play. After about an hour of heads-up play, he eventually sent Rowe to the rail to claim his first major trophy and the $265,000 top prize.

The Main Event saw 117 players paid with the minimum cash $2350, and a total prize pool of $1,455,000. The buy-in was $1500.

Final table payouts:

1st: Branko Usljebrka – $265,000
2nd: Martin Rowe – $165,000
3rd: Adrian Attenborough – $120,000
4th: Renay Murray – $91,000
5th: Sheldon Mayer – $70,000
6th: Emmanuel Derecho – $54,000
7th: John Thompson – $42,000

Click here to see how the action played out live.

Click here to see all Main Event payouts.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.