Local Sydneysider triumphs in Summer Series

Michael Levy (seated, centre) surrounded by his supporters.

Michael Levy has been crowned champion of the 2015 Star Poker Summer Series Main Event! After four long days of poker, 385 entries generating a prize pool of over $573,000, the trophy and major prize of $173,250 was awarded to the popular local Sydneysider in front of an, at times, rowdy yet supportive crowd.

Levy, a real estate agent and poker enthusiast, played in the second Day 1 flight on Saturday and was made to sweat his tournament life a number of times before recovering for the win on the final day of play. The first major moment of pressure for Levy came early in the tournament during Level 4. After shoving for his last 12,000 in chips, he was fortunately saved by hitting a much needed outer on the river to overcome his opponent. Then, towards the end of Day 1, he was all-in again for his remaining 37,000 on a bluff. Thankfully for Levy his opponent folded and he survived, eventually finishing on 113,000 in chips going into Day 2 on Sunday.

This year’s $2,000 Main Event attracted a large field with forty more players than last year, and a strong one at that. Australian Poker Hall of Fame Legend and six-time WSOP bracelet winner Jeff Lisandro was an entrant. As too were fellow Australian Poker Hall of Famer and 2011 Aussie Millions champion David Gorr, WSOP-APAC- bracelet winners Rory Young and Alexander ‘AJ’ Antonios, and APPT million-dollar winners Grant Levy and Martin Rowe.

Unfortunately for Lisandro he would bust out late on Day 1, while Gorr finished a decent 23rd for $5,545 on the very last hand of Day 2. Antonios on the other hand, had been the clear chip-leader going into the final day’s play. He had built a stack of almost 1.5 million in chips when 21 players returned on the Monday to battle it out for the title, a firm favorite with his nearest rival, Charlie Bakhos, holding a little under 1 million in chips. Antonios’ positioned became even more dominant when 15 players remained, with 2.4 million in front of him and the next closest opponent still below 1 million in chips. However, soon afterwards he would take a couple of major beats and whilst still making the final table with 900,000 in chips, he’d bust out in 7th place for a $24,600 payday.

The final table was a competitive affair and it would be Chris Ozer who’d lead the way for a time, pushing through the 3 million-chip barrier to increase the pressure on the remaining group. However, David Chambers would then emerge as a significant chip leader with four remaining, holding over 5 million in chips to Jamal Ishac’s 2.8 million. Levy would be fourth at this point but he was poised to lift! He began by taking down a nice pot against Ishac and then knocked out Ozer to take over the lead. His chip-lead remained from this point, taking out Ishac and Chambers before accepting the title.

The Star Poker Summer Series Main Event ended on a positive note after almost 30 levels of play. With a total of 385 players in the field, the Summer Series attracting great fields across most events, live tournament poker at The Star is going from strength to strength. Congratulations once again to Poker Manager Stephen Ibrahim and his team for the success of the Main Event and the Series.

2015 Star Poker Summer Series Payouts (385 entrants, $573,000 prize pool)

1st   Michael Levy – $173,250

2nd  David Chambers – $110,200

3rd   Jamal Ishac – $61,680

4th   Chris Ozer – $47,820

5th   Andy Lee – $38,460

6th   Trevor Saunders – $31,530

7th   Alexander Antonios – $24,600

8th   David Sebesfi – $19,060

9th   Tony Sama – $14,200

10th  Michael Seymour – $9,700

11th  Leo Wai – $9,700

12th  Vincent Chua – $9,700

13th  David Sanis – $7,970

14th  Ronald Bean – $7,970

15th  Christina Pie – $7,970

16th  Tim English – $6,930

17th  Jay Satchi – $6,930

18th  Jun Lin – $6,930

19th  Charlie Bakhos – $6,235

20th  Joseph Alvaro – $6,235

21st  Ricky Lim – $6,235

22nd  Martin Benda – $5,545

23rd   David Gorr – $5,545

24th   Anthony Quattrone – $5,545

25th   Nick Williams – $4,850

26th   Wei Li – $4,850

27th   Stephen Eliesen – $4,850

28th   Martin Rowe – $4,160

29th   Craig Blight – $4,160

30th   Yi Ze Xu – $4,160

31st   Brian Johnston – $3,810

32nd  Marc Liddell – $3,810

33rd   Jonathan Karamalikis – $3,810

34th   Chris Yu – $3,810

35th   Errolyn Strang – $3,465

36th   Patrick Duerkop – $3,465

37th   Michael Kyriakou – $3,465

38th   Jason Sarkis – $3,465

39th   Sam Vakili – $3,465

40th   Kieron Kersnovske – $3,465

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.