STAR POKER: A dominant Martin Kozlov crowned Sydney Champs Main Event Champion

Martin Kozlov has protected the chip lead that he brought into the final day of play to win the 2014 Sydney Championship Main Event from The Star in Sydney. Kozlov, who also went into the final table of nine with the chip lead, was able to build to a monster stack with six remaining to finally triumph over a persistent Bernard Beh who finished in second place.

Play in the Main Event this year began on Friday August 8 for the first of two Day 1 flights. The field increased from 227 entries in 2013 to 235 players this year.  After four days of play and some 27 levels, Kozlov was finally crowned Champion.

The final day saw 19 players qualify from Day 2. Play began with four tables but they soon broke to three when George Karageorge was busted within the first few hands of play. It took several levels for the final table bubble to burst with the last lady to remain in the field, Suzy Khoueis, finishing in tenth place.

While Kozlov took a chip lead into the final table, several players had enough chips to put pressure on the leader. Kozlov, however, would overcome most battles to eliminate all but one person on that final table. When he took Steve Pappas out in sixth place, he had built a monster stack that enabled him to truly impress dominance on the remaining players. When Daniel Neilson and Andrew Yam soon fell afterwards, also at the hands of Kozlov, he was poised to fly through to the title. However, Sam Capra and Bernard Beh would stick it out for several more levels.

Eventually both Capra and Beh would fall to Kozlov, overcome by his massive stack. Kozlov would win the title, trophy and a payday of $171,080.

The final payouts were:

1st     Martin Kozlov – $171,080
2nd    Bernard Beh – $108,570
3rd     Sam Capra – $61,194
4th     Andrew Yam – $49,350
5th     Daniel Neilson – $41,125
6th     Steve Pappas – $34,545
7th     Jarred Graham – $27,965
8th      Ismail Ismail – $21,385
9th      John Parker – $16,450
10th    Suzy Khoueis – $11,515
11th     Leo Boxell – $11,515
12th    Mladen Avramovski – $11,515
13th    Collin Tran – $9,870
14th    Alex Lee – $9,870
15th    Chad Awerbuch – $9,870
16th    Ronald Bean – $8,225
17th    Jason Pritchard – $8,225
18th    Patrick Healy – $8,225
19th    George Karageorge – $6,580
20th     Lukas Byrns – $6,580
21st     Greg Cook – $6,580
22nd    David Hirst – $5,922
23rd     Nicholas Lee – $5,922
24th     Sherif Derias – $5,922

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.