Lim lights up opening flight of record breaking Main Event

The Australian poker record book is scheduled for an update with an unprecedented number of players already assured for the first Star Poker Summer Series Main Event featuring the support of the Asian Poker Tour and National Poker League. A huge line-up of 273 players packed into the southern end of The Star with all eyes on a slice of the prizepool that is expected to smash through the $1 million mark.

Just 152 of the 273 starters remained as the opening day one flight wrapped up in the early hours of this morning (Friday) with Ricky Lim leading the way on 254,300. With the involvement of both the APT and NPL, it was a unique mix of local tournament regulars, outright amateurs and full-time pros that took to the tables to do battle last night.

As always, some crashed and burned early while others shone through with Patrick Healy, Matthew Wakeman, Tristan Bain and Dale Marsland among those well placed heading into Saturday’s day two. Also progressing were the likes of Jonathan Karamalikis, Stewart Scott, Haibo Chu, Martin Kozlov, Errolyn Strang, Jordan Westmorland and Tony Kambouroglou. Not so fortunate, however, were Grant Levy, Aaron Benton, Daniel Neilson, Andy Hinrichsen, Liam O’Rourke, Didier Guerin, Michael Kanaan and Martin Rowe.

Already 293 players are confirmed for the second flight which kicks-off at 12.30pm. This means the field will surpass the 561 players who took part in APPT Sydney Main Event in 2007 as the biggest main event field ever assembled at The Star. With late registrations expected this morning, it seems the Star poker room will be pushed to its capacity of 340-seated players while there is provision for 27 alternates.

2013 Star Poker Summer Series $2000 No Limit Hold’em Main Event (273 players, 152 players remain) day 1 flight 1 top five chip counts

Ricky Lim 254,300

Patrick Healy 183,825

Matthew Wakeman 157,475

Tristan Bain 151,475

Joseph LoRusso 150,525

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.