STAR POKER: Victor the victorious in PMA Six-handed event

With the historic Asian Poker Tour Main Event about to kick-off at Sydney’s Star Casino as part of the Star Poker Summer Series, the preliminary schedule is almost complete.

The second event on the schedule was the latest edition of the PokerMedia Australia No Limit Hold’em Six-Handed event. This $1100 buy-in event attracted a field of 79 players with the top nine sharing a pool of almost $80,000. Appropriately, it was Victor Teng (pictured) who prevailed over Matthew Rolfe heads-up to win the first prize of more than $23,000.

The NPL has been hosting poker events throughout Australia since 2006, but over the past three years these events have truly evolved into the richest pub/club poker events in the nation. From their ground-breaking NPL500 at the Easts Leagues Club in 2010, to the 2011 NPL500 II at the Parramatta Leagues Club in 2011, last year’s NPL500 III found its home at The Star. Victor Teng won that very event in August 2012, earning the first prize of $200,000.

Meanwhile in the $440 No Limit Hold’em Turbo, Igal Augarten collected his first victory as part of a major tournament series after outlasting a tough three-handed line-up that included Joseph Alvaro and Jackson Zheng. He took home $11,400 – his biggest cash since placing sixth in the 2012 ANZPT Melbourne Main Event for more than $31,000.

2013 Star Poker Summer Series $1100 PokerMedia Australia No Limit Hold’em Six-handed Event (79 players, nine players paid, prizepool $79,000) results

1 Victor Teng $23,700

2 Matthew Rolfe $15,800

3 Jun Li $11,850

4 Martin Kozlov $7900

5 Nick Polias $5925

6 Shivan Abdine $4345

7 Patrick Healy $3160

8 Reza Vakili $3160

9 John Thomson $3160

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.