STAR POKER: Laidlaw lays down the law on day 2

Just 11 players remain in the race for the fifth Sydney Poker Championships Main Event title after a long day at The Star yesterday.

Leading the way heading into Day 3 is respected pro Daniel Laidlaw who stacks up 728,000. He can thank a hand played against David Yan for much of that stack.

Late in the day, Yan bet the flop and river before shoving the river with J-7 on a J-high board, but Laidlaw had rivered the nut straight and raked in a huge pot. Yan was eliminated soon after.

Laidlaw brings good form to the tables having placed runner-up to Jono Bredin in the Queenstown Snowfest event played last week. Also still in contention here are Star Poker ambassador Aaron Benton, Michael Kanaan and “Toothpick” Tony Kambouroglou who will all be looking to add to their impressive poker resumes.

Play started at 12.30pm with 102 players remaining and although well over half the field was eliminated within the first four levels, play slowed as the money approached. Among those to fall before the bubble were Brendon Rubie, Jonathan Karamalikis, Michael Guzzardi, Jordan Westmorland, Ricky Kroesen, Sam Capra, Tam Truong and overnight chip leader Martin Rowe.

Others made the money but couldn’t convert it into a big score, including Leo Boxell, Didier Guerin and Phillip Willcocks.

The remaining players will return at 2pm today (Sunday to play down to a champion who will take home the $165,256 first prize. Be sure to join us here at PokerMedia Australia as we bring you all the final table action live from The Star Poker room.

2013 Sydney Champs $3000 No Limit Hold’em Main Event (227 players, 24 players paid, 11 players remain, prizepool $635,600) end of day 2 chip count

Daniel Laidlaw 728,000
Michael Weiss 682,000
Kwong Phung 662,000
Aaron Benton 652,000
Phi Yuu 361,000
Michael Kanaan 340,000
Sailendra Sa 296,000
Tony Kambouroglou 282,000
Michael Doodson 222,000
Brad Fowler 191,000
Robert Spano 127,000


1 $165,000
2 $104,875
3 $59,110
4 $47,670
5 $39,725
6 33,370
7 $27,013
8 $20,657
9 $15,980
10 $11,123
11 $11,123
12 David Yan $11,123
13 Michael Roth $9543
14 Edison Nguyen $9543
15 Andrew Miller $9543
16 Didier Guerin $7945
17 Brad Bower $7945
18 Zac Boustani $7945
19 Daniel Abadee $6356
20 Michael O’Grady $6356
21 Peter Skouteris $6356
22 Leo Boxell $5720
23 John Apostolidis $5720
24 Phillip Willcocks $5720

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.