WSOP APAC: Apr 15; Four Aussies to contest Main Event final table

WSOP APAC daily wrap – April 15

Since bracelet events were offered outside Las Vegas in 2007, the World Series of Poker has offered played Main Events in Europe and now Australia. Daniel Negreanu has final-tabled three of them.

The four-time bracelet winner made back-to-back Main Event final tables at WSOP Europe in 2009 and 2010, and now has a shot at WSOP Asia Pacific gold when the final eight players take their seats at the final table this afternoon at Crown Melbourne.

As reported on, 15 players returned yesterday for day three but it didn’t take long for the final table line-up to be established.

One Drop champion Antonio Esfandiari was the final table bubble finisher. The three-time bracelet winner exited the tournament in ninth place when his A-K lost a coin-flip to Benny Spindler’s pocket queens to bring the day to a close.

Others to fall short of the final table included Aussies Tino Lechich (11th), Joel Feldman (12th), Michael Pedley (13th) and Raj Ramakrishnan (14th).

Thanks to Esfandiari’s chips and a productive day at the table, the German pro Spindler will take the chip lead into the final table marginally ahead of Negreanu and a pair of Aussies – Daniel Marton (pictured, with thanks to Crown Poker) and George Tsatsis.

There’s quite a gap back to the other four players. Kahle Burns and Mikel Habb are Australia’s other two final table participants, and will start ahead of 2012 WSOP Main Event fourth-place finisher Russell Thomas and prolific Chinese pro Winfred Yu.

Final table action kicks-off at 2pm with blinds will be at 10,000/20,000 with an ante of 3000.

WSOP APAC event 5: $10,000 No Limit Hold’em Main Event end of day three chip count (405 players; 40 players paid; eight players remain; $3,847,500 prizepool)

Benny Spindler (Germany) 2,931,000
Daniel Negreanu (Canada) 2,437,000
George Tsatsis (Australia) 2,321,000
Daniel Marton (Australia) 2,160,000
Kahle Burns (Australia) 905,000
Mikel Habb (Australia) 551,000
Russell Thomas (USA) 490,000
Winfred Yu (China) 367,000


1 $1,038,825
2 $637,911
3 $423,225
4 $284,715
5 $201,994
6 $146,205
7 $107,730
8 $82,721

9 Antonio Esfandiari $65,408
10 Jordan Wetsmorland $65,408
11 Tino Lechich $51,941
12 Joel Feldman $51,941
13 Michael Pedley $39,245
14 Raj Ramakrishnan $39,245
15 Guden Yasar $31,549
16 Eddie Tran $31,549
17 Raymond Rahme $25,778
18 Chane Kampanatsanyakorn $25,778
19 Mark Betts $25,778
20 Matt Rolfe $25,778
21 Michael Weiss $25,778
22 Tom Watkins $25,778
23 Khylon Hanegraf $25,778
24 Todd Terry $25,778
25 Michael Turnley $22,316
26 Balleur Gaetan $22,316
27 Oliver Gill $22,316
28 Tan Seet Pin Calvin $22,316
29 Martin Dimitrov $22,316
30 Kevin Song $22,316
31 Minh Nguyen $22,316
32 Joseph Cheong $22,316
33 Mitch Carle $20,392
34 Omeed Nikdin $20,392
35 Jeff Lisandro $20,392
36 Derek Cheung $20,392
37 Sherrie Krampel $20,392
38 Daniel Koninger $20,392
39 Erik Seidel $20,392
40 Binh Nguyen $20,392

• Philipp Gruissem won’t forget April 14, 2013 in a hurry. He started the day as a member of the victorious Team Europe line-up in the Caesars Cup before winning the WSOP APAC High Roller event for AUD $825,000.

In a field stacked with some of the world’s best players including Phil Ivey, John Juanda, Sam Trickett and Erik Seidel, it was Gruissem and US player Joseph Cheong who were the last two men standing.

Cheong led the field at the start of day two but by the time the field hit the final table, it was Gruissem who was at the top of the count. The pair made relatively quick work of their opposition then battled back and forth in a dramatic heads-up match that eventually went the way of Gruissem.

WSOP APAC $50,000 No Limit Hold’em High Roller w/ rebuy results (37 players; seven rebuys; six players paid; $2,156,000 prizepool)

1 Philipp Gruissem (Germany) $825,000
2 Joseph Cheong (USA) $511,000
3 Paul Phua (Malaysia) $325,000
4 Lo Shing Fung (China) $225,000
5 Elton Tsang (China) $155,000
6 Tom Hall (UK) $115,000

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.