STAR POKER: Strang adds name to PMA honour roll at ANZPT Sydney

Errolyn Strang (pictured left) has been crowned the latest PokerMedia Australia $1k Special Event champion, outlasting a top quality field of 91 players to take down the $27,300 first prize at Star Poker last night.

This is Strang’s second major tournament win at The Star following her stunning success in the 2011 Sydney Championships Main Event. The hard work she has put into her game in the time since paid off tonight as she rode the final table wave before downing young gun Didier Guerin in a short but sweet heads-up battle.

While it didn’t take long for both players to get their chips into the middle, the final table itself was an exhausting affair – lasting a touch over seven hours including a three-hour run between Victor Teng bowing out in sixth and Thang Truong exiting in fourth.

In that time each of the final five players spent some time at the top of the chip counts before Truong’s departure saw the final order start to take shape.

Soon after, Strang got it all-in against third-place finisher Wei Bing Low with an open-ender and an over-card, her K-7 getting there on the river against Low’s 9s on a 5-6-8-J-4 board to cut the field to two, then winning a classic race to steal the title from Guerin at the death.

Guerin shoved over the top of Strang’s button open for 500,000 holding K-J and was called by Strang with pocket 10s, with he board running out 6-Q-3-3-2.
Strang has come a long way since Sydney Championships win. Coached by Brendon Rubie, she has enjoyed a stellar two-year run that also included a second-place finish at last year’s NPL500.

ANZPT Sydney $1100 PokerMedia Australia No Limit Hold’em Special Event (91 players; total prizepool $91,000; 10 players paid) results

1 Errolyn Strang $27,300
2 Didier Guerin $18,200
3 Wei Low $13,195
4 Thang Truong $8645
5 Con Angelakis $6370
6 Victor Teng $4777
7 James Tai $4095
8 Benjamin Benoit $3413
9 Milan Gurung $2730
10 Clement Lau $2275

• An enthusiastic field of 113 players took their seats for the $550 No Limit Hold’em Bounty Event yesterday, with an even dozen sharing the lion’s share of the $45,200 prizepool.

After finishing runner-up in the Hall of Fame Classic at the 2013 Aussie Millions, Viet Nguyen went one better here to claim the first title and first prize of $12,430.

In an all-Melbourne quinella, Haki Sejnovski collected his first major series tournament cash since 2011 in finishing second while Brit Marc Foggin, currently based in Australia, filled out the top three.

Action at ANZPT Sydney continues today with a $550 PLO tournament followed by the $440 Teams Event, starting at 6.15pm tonight.

ANZPT Sydney Event 3: $550 ANZPT No Limit Hold’em Bounty (113 players; total prizepool $45,200; 12 players paid) results

1 Viet Nguyen $12,430
2 Haki Sejnovski $8588
3 Marc Foggin $6328
4 Michael O’Grady $4294
5 Narbeh Hovsepian $3164
6 Luke Spano $2373
7 Khac-Trung Tran $1921
8 Graeme Putt $1582
9 Luca Borreggini $1356
10 Ali Ghezelbash $1130
11 Anthony Legg $1017
12 Rick Solomon $1017

What’s coming up at ANZPT Sydney

March 19

12.30pm Event 4: $550 ANZPT Pot Limit Omaha (start stack 10000 30-minute levels)
6.15pm Event 5: $440 ANZPT Teams Event (start stack 8000 20-minute levels)

March 20

12.30pm Event 6: $550 ANZPT No Limit Hold’em Six-Handed (start stack 10000 40-minute levels)
6.15pm $250 ANZPT Main Event Mega Satellite (start stack 6000 25-minute levels)

March 21

12.30pm $250 ANZPT Main Event Mega Satellite (start stack 6000 25-minute levels)
6.15pm Event 7: $2200 ANZPT No Limit Hold’em Main Event day 1 flight 1 (start stack 20000 60-minute levels)

March 22

12.30pm Event 7: $2200 ANZPT No Limit Hold’em Main Event day 1 flight 2 (start stack 20000 60-minute levels)

March 23

12.30pm Event 7: $2200 ANZPT No Limit Hold’em Main Event day 2
4pm $550 Mega Satellite to $5K No Limit Hold’em Challenge Mega Satellite

March 24

12.30pm Event 8: $330 Mixed Pot Limit Omaha/No Limit Hold’em
2pm Event 7: $2200 ANZPT No Limit Hold’em Main Event day 3/final table
4pm Event 9: $5000 No Limit Hold’em Challenge

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.