AM TODAY: Jan 26; Bouskila bowls over Grigg to claim short-handed title

Aussie Millions daily report – January 26, 2013

Weekends don’t come much bigger on the Australian poker calendar with the countdown to the start of 2013 Aussie Millions Main Event tomorrow (Sunday) at Crown Melbourne.

There was action aplenty yesterday with the finale to the $1100 No Limit Hold’em Six-handed event while the final table for the $1150 No Limit Hold’em with Rebuys event was decided.

Respected Aussie poker pro Tom Grigg (1,095,000) held a sizeable chip lead when play resumed in the six-handed event ahead of Jan Suchanek (769,000), Oliver Gill (744,000), Neil Channing (549,000), Michel Bouskila (554,000), Vlastimil Stastny (514,000), Matthew Woolley (447,000), Andrew Bassat (375,000) and Ian Cordts (193,000).

Channing collected his fifth Aussie Millions cash as the first player KOed on day two while fellow internationals Jan Suchanek (NZ) and Vlastimal Stasny (Czech Republic) finished third and fifth respectively.

The battle for the title was an all-Sydney heads-up affair with Michel Bouskila holding a 4:1 chip lead over Tom Grigg, with Bouskila claiming the title after Grigg shoved with 6-4 on a board of 8-6-J-K. Bouskila called and showed K-T for top pair, which prevailed after the river fell Qc.

Aussie Millions Event 5: $1100 No Limit Hold’em Six-handed (523 entries; 48 players paid; total prizepool $523,000) final table results (payouts 7-48 yet to be supplied)

1 Michel Bouskila (Australia) $110,000
2 Tom Grigg (Australia) $73,000
3 Jan Suchanek (NZ) $54,000
4 Oliver Gill (Australia) $43,000
5 Vlastimil Stastny (Czech Republic) $32,000
6 Andrew Bassat (Australia) $21,000

• After excellent numbers throughout the first week of the Aussie Millions, just 83 players took their seats for the $1150 No Limit Hold’em Rebuy event.

Despite the modest line-up in a format now rarely scheduled as part of a major tournament series, those players tallied 257 rebuys and add-ons for a total prizepool of $340,000.

Perth’s Patrick Healy, who placed fifth in last year’s Aussie Millions Main Event, led the field into the money on 153,600. Close behind were 2012 WSOP Main Event third-place finisher Jake Balsiger (129,900) and 2012 WSOP $3k Shootout bracelet winner Craig McCorkell (128,700).

This elite line-up of contenders also included 2010 WSOP $10k Pot Limit Hold’em bracelet winner Valdemar Kwaysser (81,700), Alex Rich (81,200), Australian Poker Hall of Fame foundation inductee Gary Benson (70,500), Neil Channing (54,000), Tino Lechich (43,700) and Tony Sama (37,000).

Fast fact

Just seven former WSOP Main Event winners have played in the Aussie Millions Main Event – Dan Harrington (1995), Huck Seed (1996), Scotty Nguyen (1998), Chris Ferguson (2000), Carlos Mortensen (2001), Greg Raymer (2004) and Joe Hachem (2005).

What’s on today

10.15am $250 Aussie Millions Phase 2 Satellite

12.30pm Event 7: $1650 No Limit Hold’em Bounty Event

2.15pm $250 Aussie Millions Phase 2 Satellite

4.15pm $250 Aussie Millions Phase 2 Satellite

6.15pm $1150 Aussie Millions Phase 3 Supershot Satellite

• Special thanks to Crown Poker for supplying information used in this report, photography Shannon Morris – 2013 Aussie Millions Poker Championship

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.