AM TODAY: Jan 25; Sekiya a rising son on regional poker scene

Aussie Millions daily report – January 25, 2013

It’s been just over five years since the first major poker tournaments were played in the hottest gambling region on the planet – south-east Asia.

Slowly, the ranks of these poker graduates are making their mark on the global stage, underlined by the victory of Japan’s Yosuke Sekiya in event 4 on the 2013 Aussie Millions schedule, the $1100 No Limit Hold’em/Pot Limit Omaha tournament.

The final table started with Sam Higgs (585,000) leading George McDonald (337,000), Yosuko Sekiya (320,000), Joseph Cristallo (320,000), Mike Ivin (180,500), Nicholas Nicolaou (117,000), Bernard Samuel (109,000), Seanglee Ang (80,500) and Justin Bradshaw (65,500).

Higgs was still there at the business end of proceedings as was Sekiya, who earned the Player of the Year title at the Grand Waldo in Macau last year.

After a see-sawing battle, the end came for Higgs in a No Limit Hold’em hand in which he held a dominant Ac-Jh against the Qd-Js of the Japanese player. Sure enough the board flowed 8-8-3-9-T to make a straight for Sekiya.

Aussie Millions Event 4: $1100 No Limit Hold’em Shootout (206 players; 20 players paid; total prizepool $206,000) final table results (payouts 10-20 yet to be supplied)

1 Yosuke Sekiya (Japan) $41,200
2 Sam Higgs (Australia) $28,840
3 Joe Cristallo (Australia) $20,600
4 Mike Ivin (Australia) $17,510
5 Justin Bradshaw (Australia) $15,450
6 George McDonald (Scotland) $13,390
7 Seanglee Ang (Australia) $11,330
8 Nick Nicolaou (Australia) $9270
9 Bernard Samuel $7210

• Twitter went into meltdown after players in the $1100 No Limit Hold’em Six-handed event discovered that the tournament would start seven-handed.

But there was little the organisers could do as there were no spare tables available, and a quick scan of the terms and conditions revealed that Crown Poker reserved the right to add an extra player to each table at the start of the tournament.

The massive field topped out at 523 entries (which included approximately 100 re-entries), generating a prizepool of $523,000 and offering a first prize of $110,000.

The marathon day ended with Sydneysider Tom Grigg leading the final nine on (1,095,000) ahead of Kiwi Jan Suchanek (769,000), Oliver Gill (744,000), Neil Channing (549,000), Michel Bouskila (554,000), Vlastimil Stastny (514,000), Matthew Woolley (447,000), Andrew Bassat (375,000) and Ian Cordts (193,000).

Fast fact

While the 2013 Aussie Millions Opening Event attracted 1338 entries, the field for the 2010 Opening Event holds the record for the largest number of unique entries for any Aussie Millions event and the largest non-Main Event field in Australian poker tournament history.

What’s on today

10.15am $250 Aussie Millions Phase 2 Satellite

12.30pm Event 6: $1150 No Limit Hold’em w/Rebuys

2.15pm $250 Aussie Millions Phase 2 Satellite

4.15pm $250 Aussie Millions Phase 2 Satellite

6.15pm $1150 Aussie Millions Phase 3 Supershot Satellite

9.15pm $130 Aussie Millions Main Event Rebuy Satellite

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.