NEWS: NBC National Heads-up returns for 2013; 64 starters confirmed

The increasingly packed global poker calendar means another international event has been disappointingly scheduled in direct conflict with the Aussie Millions Poker Championship.

The NBC Sport Group confirmed only last week that the NBC National Heads-up Poker Championship will return in 2013 after a 12-month hiatus.

The 64 starters (listed below) will converge on Cleopatra’s Barge at Caesars Palace in Las Vegas on January 23 for the draw, with play then scheduled for the next three days (January 24-26).

With the three day one flights of the Aussie Millions Main Event scheduled for January 27-29, we’re hoping that at least some of the players on the list make the trip Down Under. Not surprisingly, no Aussies feature on the list of the 64 contenders.

The National Heads-Up Poker Championship is a series of Heads-Up matches using a single-elimination, bracket-style format modelled on the NCAA Basketball tournament. A player wins a match and advances to the next round; win six matches and he or she will become the National Heads-Up Poker champion.

This year’s event is the eighth instalment of the National Heads-Up Poker Championship. The reigning champion is eight-time WSOP bracelet winner and past Aussie Millions Main Event runner-up Erik Seidel, who defeated 2003 WSOP Main Event champion Chris Moneymaker to win the title.

Previous Heads-Up Championship winners are Annie Duke (2010), Huck Seed (2009), Chris Ferguson (2008), Paul Wasicka (2007), Ted Forrest (2006) and Phil Hellmuth (2005).

2013 National Heads-Up Poker Championship players: Gaelle Baumann, Jean Robert Bellande, Andy Bloch, Viktor Blom, Liv Boeree, Justin Bonomo, Doyle Brunson, Olivier Busquet, Daniel Cates, Mohsin Charania, Joseph Cheong, Shaun Deeb, Jonathan Duhamel, Tom Dwan, Eli Elezra, Antonio Esfandiari, Will Failla, Andy Frankenberger, Phil Galfond, Matt Glantz, Barry Greenstein, Bertrand Grospellier, Jennifer Harman, Brian Hastings, Isaac Haxton, Phil Hellmuth, John Hennigan, Maria Ho, Phil Ivey, Faraz Jaka, Kyle Julius, Eugene Katchalov, Phil Laak, Ben Lamb, Andrew Lichtenberger, Matt Matros, Mike Matusow, Jason Mercier, Greg Merson, Michael Mizrachi, Chris Moneymaker, John Monnette, Chris Moorman, Carlos Mortensen, Daniel Negreanu, David, Oppenheim, Greg Raymer, Vanessa Rousso, Rob Salaburu, Matt Salsberg, Nick Schulman, Huck Seed, Erik Seidel, Scott Seiver, Joe Serock, Mike Sexton, Sam Simon, Dan Smith, Justin Smith, Jason Somerville, Jennifer Tilly, Yevgeniy Timoshenko, David Williams & one Qualifier.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.