SPSS TODAY: Dec 3; Boustani, Jabbour add their names to Star honour roll

It took just a touch over four hours of final table play for Sayed Jabbour to be crowned champion of the PokerMedia Australia $1k No Limit Hold’em Special – Event 3 of this year’s Star Poker Summer Series.

Ben Blaschke reported that having worked his way through a field of 88 players to reach the final table second only to Nabil Edgtton in chips, Jabbour quickly went to work rising to the top of the pile – busting four opponents on his way to victory.

And while Thang Truong was the only player to be eliminated in the first 90 minutes of play, once the action heated up there was barely a moment to catch a breath!

Short stacks Andrew Michael and John Thompson eventually succumbed to the rising blinds, Peter Natoli chipped up before his attempt to steal the blinds were thwarted when he ran into Jabbour’s A-K and overnight chip leader Edgtton was also sent packing when he lost a huge race to Jabbour.

Andrew Scarf and reigning Sydney Championships Main Event champion Dean Yuen were both holding out for the other to be eliminated first and once Scarf ran out of time, Yuen followed him straight out the door just a few hands later.

And so it was Jabbour and Joel Cohen heads-up – their battle also lasting only a few minutes before a deal was done and they agreed to ship it in blind. Cruelly for Cohen, the dealer dealt him 7-2 while Jabbour woke up with A-K for the umpteenth time in the day. The board ran out A-9-6-2-A and Jabbour celebrated a superb victory.

Star Poker Summer Series Event 2: $1100 PokerMedia Australia No Limit Hold’em Special Event (88 players, 10 players paid, total prizepool $88,000) results

1 Sayed Jabbour $26,400
2 Joel Cohen $17,600
3 Dean Yuen $12,760
4 Andrew Scarf $8360
5 Sheldon Mayer $6160
6 Peter Natoli $4620
7 Nabil Edgtton $3960
8 John Thompson $3300
9 Andrew Michael $2640
10 Thang Truong $2200

• George Boustani has pocketed more than $50,000 after a dramatic end to the $330 No Limit Hold’em Opening Event as part of the Star Poker Summer Series.

It took three full days to whittle down the huge field of 785 players to a winner, which earned Boustani the biggest win of his career and a payout of $55,107.

After starting the final table with the second shortest stack, Boustani steadily clawed his way into contention and set-up a head-up showdown with Chad Awerbuch, who’d held the chip lead at the start of the day.

On the final hand, Boustani bet 250,000, Awerbuch shoved over the top all-in and Boustani called, revealing pocket fives. Awerbuch showed A-6, which improved to two-pair on the flop of 2-2-A. However, Boustani landed a 5 on the turn for a full-house, with the river K confirming his win.

Star Poker Summer Series Opening Event: $330 No Limit Hold’em Opening Event (785 players, 80 players paid, total prizepool $235,500) final table results

1 George Boustani $55,107
2 Chad Awerbuch $34,736
3 Rhys Gould $17,662
4 Benjamin Zhang $13,895
5 Thanh Sang Ta $11,304
6 Joe Sargon $8478
7 Matthew Rolfe $6123
8 Daniel Parsonage $4710
9 Tam Troung $3415
10 Adrian Taufik $2472

• It’s another packed program at The Star today highlighted by the $1100 Pot Limit Omaha event. A renewed focus on PLO at The Star will ensure a big line-up of seasoned Omaha players and a generous prizepool. This event starts at 12.30pm today (Tuesday).

The $550 No Limit Hold’em Semi-Shootout final table will start at 4pm, while the $440 No Limit Hold’em Teams title will be on the line from 6.30pm.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.