SPSS TODAY: Dec 2; Nabil has the edge in PMA Special Event

If there was an award for player of the series at last year’s Star Poker Summer Series, Nabil Edgtton (pictured left) would have been a strong contender. He ran deep in both the Opening and Main events and claimed the Six-handed title for more than $16,000.

The 20-year-old is ideally positioned to win a second Summer Series title as he takes the chip lead into today’s PokerMedia Australia $1100 No Limit Hold’em Special Event final table after 13 hours of play on day one at The Star yesterday.

There’ll be an interesting mix of young and old, rookies and past champions when we return to The Star poker room at 4pm today (Monday) to decide who will take home the first prize of $26,4000.

Edgtton will no doubt prove quite a handful given the impressive manner in which he took control as the day progressed – chipping away at his rivals and gradually working his way into a dominant position.

He won’t have it all his own way though. Among those to also make it through to the final table are 2012 Sydney Championships winner Dean Yuen, Sheldon Mayer and Andrew Scarf. The remaining 10 players ware all guaranteed a minimum payday of $2200.

The latest running of the popular PokerMedia Australia $1k Special attracted a qualify field of 88 players including the likes of former APPT Sydney grand final champions Grant Levy and Aaron Benton, Daniel Neilson, Tony Kambouroglou, Milan Gurung, Alec Smith and Barry Forrester.

None of those names made it through to the final table, while it was a long and painful night for bubble boy Brett Murtagh who held on for as long as he could before committing his last 20,000 holding A-5 against Thang Truong’s 6-7. Truong nailed a 6 on the flop and when no ace arrived we were down to the final 10.

Join us here at PokerMedia Australia from 4pm as we bring you all the action from the final table of the PMA $1k Special live from The Star. Other events scheduled for today include the $550 NLH Semi-Shootout at 12.30pm while there will be another $550 Summer Series Mega Satellite from 6.30pm.

Star Poker Summer Series Event 2: $1100 PokerMedia Australia No Limit Hold’em Special Event (88 players, 10 players paid, total prizepool $88,000) start of final table chip counts

Nabil Edgtton 241,000
Sayed Jabbour 239,500
Andrew Scarf 209,000
Joel Cohen 154,000
John Thompson 118,000
Dean Yuen 109,500
Thang Truong 94,500
Sheldon Mayer 91,500
Peter Natoli 36,500
Andrew Michael 20,000


1 $26,400
2 $17,600
3 $12,760
4 $8360
5 $6160
6 $4620
7 $3960
8 $3300
9 $2640
10 $2200

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.