ASIA: MPCC Main Event title stays on home soil

Rui Chen was the last man standing as the latest edition of the Macau Poker Cup Championship concluded yesterday at the Grand Waldo Entertainment Complex in Macau. The Chinese businessman, who qualified for the Main Event via a live satellite for just HKD $1100, turned that into a payout of HKD $1,108,500 for first prize.

Australia’s two representatives at the final table, Ryan Hong and Bob Streatfeild, were the first two players eliminated in eighth and ninth respectively. The event attracted a field of 270 players with 31 receiving payouts.

“The past few years had seen a huge development (for poker) in China,” Chen said through an interpreter. The 37-year old added, “Poker is suited for the Chinese because we are particularly good at mind games.”

Players from 30 countries featured in the Main Event including dual WSOP champion Johnny Chan, 2012 APPT Melbourne winner Sam Razavi, 2012 Aussie Millions runner-up Ken Wong and local sponsored pros Bryan Huang, Raymond Wu, Vivian Im and Celina Lin.

The final table looked like it might be a walk in the park for Chen who was the overnight chip leader. As players continued to hit the rail, Chen’s mountain of chips continued to grow until the field was reduced to three players. Japan’s Yosuke Sekiya took over the chip lead only to hand it back to Chen on several occasions.

Chen had dominated Sekiya twice during heads up play with dominating hands that looked poised to throw the knock out punch to finish the evening. However, the Japanese player survived both times and forced his Chinese counterpart to grind back until the title was decided when Chen’s K-Q outkicked Sekiya’s K-J on a 10-high board.

Macau Poker Cup Championships Main Event results (270 players; 31 players paid; total prizepool HKD $4,818,960)

1 Rui Chen (China) $1,108,500
2 Yosuke Sekiya (Japan) $759,000
3 Robert Jin (China) $458,000
4 Sunny Jung (Korea) $361,500
5 Kevin Kung (USA) $289,160
6 Jessica Ngu (USA) $241,000
7 Lisi Wei (China) $193,000
8 Ryan Hong (Australia) $144,500
9 Robert Streatfeild (Australia) $120,500
10 Xing Zhou (China) $96,500
11 Satrya Teja (Indonesia) $72,300
12 Ying Kit Chan (Hong Kong) $72,300
13 Amit Varma (India) $72,300
14 Shanshan Zhao (China) $60,200
15 Amit Roshanlal Jain (India) $60,200
16 Hon Cheung Kwong (Hong Kong) $60,200
17 Edmund Hoi Ting Lee (Hong Kong) $60,200
18 Yifan Zheng (China) $60,200
19 Milad Sheva (Germany) $60,200
20 Victor Chong (Malaysia) $48,100
21 Hung-Sheng “Shaq” Lin (Taiwan) $48,100
22 Yuji Masaki (Japan) $48,100
23 Aaron Weiming Lam (Singapore) $36,100
24 Lei Zhang (China) $36,100
25 Masaki Hirayama (Japan) $36,100
26 Ping Lin (China) $36,100
27 Sparrow Cheung (Hong Kong)  $36,100
28 Andy Asihwardji (Canada) $36,100
29 Jill Maley (Australia) $36,100
30 Jian Yang (China) $36,100
31 Daren Yoon (Malaysia) $36,100

• PMA thanks Fred Leung for his daily event updates and the PokerPortal Asia team for their live updates

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.