ASIA: Hong can do no wrong in MPCC Main Event

Australia may not have a huge representation in the Macau Poker Cup Championships Main Event, but it’s 25-year-old law student Ryan Hong (pictured left) who leads the remaining 45 players into day three at the Grand Waldo Entertainment Complex.

Hong was third in the Melbourne Champs Main Event at Crown back in May. A field of 123 players returned for day two with hopes of advancing to one of 31 spots in the money.

Three players from China – Rui Chen (264,200), Jin Wenlong (255,900) and Lei Zhang (239,700) – hold the next biggest stacks behind Hong with Hong Kong’s Sparrow Cheung (217,100), Lisi Wei (208,800) and another Chinese native, reigning Asia Player of the Year, Shaq Lin (205,100) close behind.

Three other Aussies – Jessica Ngu (95,500), Robert Streatfield (54,100) and WA’s Jill Maley (34,900) also remain in contention for a slice of the HKD $4.8 million prizepool.

Macau Poker Cup Championship Main Event end of day 2 chip count

Ryan Hong (Australia) 430,300
Rui Chen (China) 264,200
Jin Wenlong (China) 255,900
Lei Zhang (China) 239,700
Sparrow Cheung (Hong Kong) 217,100
Lisi Wei (China) 208,800
Hung-Sheng “Shaq” Lin (Taiwan) 205,100
Hon Cheung Kwong (Hong Kong) 153,100
Ying Kit Chan (Hong Kong) 142,800
Andy Asihwardji (Canada) 135,600
Yifan Zheng (China) 134,200
Shanshan Zhao (China) 130,800
Xing Zhou (China) 129,800
Satrya Teja (Indonesia) 127,100
Sunny Hyung Sun Jung (Korea) 124,500
Kevin Kung (USA) 123,400
Nai Yuan Hu (Taiwan) 123,300
Jian Yang (China) 122,100
Neung Hyo Park (Korea) 107,200
Zheng Tai Tan (Singapore) 104,900
Daren Yoon (Malaysia) 103,700
Aaron Weiming Lam (Singapore) 98,400
Ping Lin (China) 98,100
Masaki Hirayama (Japan) 97,400
Jessica Ngu (Australia) 95,500
Alex Niu (Taiwan) 91,800
Yosuke Sekiya (Japan) 87,800
Elsa Hoi Man Lo Chow (Hong Kong) 85,800
Edmund Hoi Ting Lee (Hong Kong) 80,400
Milad Sheva (Germany) 78,900
Danpeng Zhang (China) 78,800
Lin Zhu (China) 77,600
Amit Roshanlal Jain (India) 74,000
Yuji Masaki (Japan) 71,600
Jeppe Drivsholm (Denmark) 70,800
Amit Varma (India) 68,000
Carlos Chang (Taiwan) 58,200
Robert Streatfield (Australia) 54,100
Victor Chong (Malaysia) 50,400
Amit Jain (India) 49,900
Shao Hung Lee (Taiwan) 49,100
Tsung Han Lin (Taiwan) 46,100
Brian John Pearson (Korea) 35,200
Jill Maley (Australia) 34,900
Rui Bao (China) 30,700

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.