APPT MELBOURNE: Grigg leads final table; Anunu wins Player of the Year

After a marathon session at Crown Melbourne, the final table for APPT Melbourne Main Event has been decided with Tom Grigg (pictured) leading the way on 2.271 million in chips.

Making his fourth final table appearance on the regional tour circuit run by PokerStars, Grigg will be aiming for his first major live title.

However Grigg faces a table of considerable talent later today with the line-up featuring UK duo Sam Razavi and day two chip leader Wayne Bentley, Australian Poker Hall of Fame foundation member Gary Benson along with young guns Brendon Rubie and Kristian Lunardi.

Lying third in chips is Keith Walker, who placed fourth at Crown in the first running of the 888/Australian Poker League MAIN EVENT earlier this year. James Bills and Nigel Andrew enter the final table as the short stacks.

Players who fell short of the final table but finished in the money included Hall of Fame duo Billy ‘The Croc’ Argyros (14th and defending champion Leo Boxell (19th), Michael Guttman (15th), Liam O’Rourke (17th), Michael Kanaan (22nd) and Haibo Chu (24th).

Also confirmed yesterday, Mishel Anunu has taken out the ANZ Player of the Year title. His record included 12th at ANZPT Sydney and second in the Canberra Winter Poker Championship.

Despite a legal challenge regarding the legitimacy of the title earlier in 2012, we’re hopeful that Mishel’s prizes will be honoured by the tour’s sponsors. Anthony Aston placed runner-up in the Player of the Year race.

APPT Melbourne Main Event end of day 3 chip counts

Tom Grigg (NSW) 2,271,000
Sam Razavi (UK) 1,318,000
Keith Walker (NSW) 1,048,000
Brendon Rubie (NSW) 1,002,000
Gary Benson (NSW) 631,000
Wayne Bentley (UK) 610,000
Kristian Lunardi (Vic) 352,000
James Bills (SA) 322,000
Nigel Andrews (Vic) 138,000


1 $326,125
2 $205,345
3 $114,750
4 $87,575
5 $72,475
6 $57,375
7 $45,300
8 $36,240
9 $27,175

10 Ismail Ismail $18,120
11 Karan Punjabi $18,120
12 Tam Truong $18,120
13 Vineet Jindal $15,100
14 Billy Argyros $15,100
15 Michael Guttman $15,100
16 Guenther Hornung $15,100
17 Liam O’Rourke $12,080
18 Rikki Papesch $12,080
19 Leo Boxell $12,080
20 Chia-Hung Hsu (Taiwan) $12,080
21 Charles Caris $9660
22 Michael Kanaan $9660
23 Ted Nguyen $9660
24 Haibo Chu $9660
25 Roy Bhasin $8455
26 Mishel Anunu $8455
27 Benn Skender $8455
28 Ashley Warner $8455

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.