WSOP TODAY: July 8; Aussies out in force for Main Event day 1B

Highlights from day 43 of the 2012 WSOP (July 8)

The field for the 2012 WSOP Main Event climbed to 3180 after an additional 2114 signed up for day 1B of the $10,000 buy-in No Limit Hold’em World Championship.

At the conclusion of the second 12-hour playing session, 1387 players were added to the 657 who survived day 1A, taking the total number of players returning for day 2A up to 2044.

UFC welterweight World Champion George St. Pierre put his own twist on the “shuffle up and deal” announcement. When St. Pierre was introduced, tournament director Jack Effel warned players not to get out of line or St. Pierre would be there to dish out a bad beat.

Leading the pack at the end of the 1B flight was John Hoang. He ended his session with 180,000 in chips but still trails day 1A frontrunner William John. The carnage of champions continued with 2001 world champion Carlos Mortensen, Greg Raymer and Scotty Nguyen all sent to the rail.

Gold bracelet winners who will have to wait until next year included Adam Friedman, Scott Montgomery, David Singer, John Hennigan, Gavin Griffin, Ville Wahlbeck, Theo Jorgensen, Yevgeniy Timoshenko, Todd Brunson, Bertrand Grospellier and Men “The Master” Nguyen.

There was a large contingent of Australian players in action on day 1B comprising Jeff Lisandro, Grant Levy, David Steicke, Mel Judah, John Apostolidis, John Corr, Joel Dodds, Kent Hunter, Scott Logan, Daniel Attard, Craig Blight, Joseph Caruso, Luke Edwards, Aaron Lim, Ben O’Connell, Michael Pedley, Tobin Ryall, Oliver Speidel and Tommy Yi.

The nine members of the Australian Poker League’s TeamWSOP (pictured above, with thanks to APL Live Reporting) were also out in force – Faramarz Delnawaz, Cameron McNeill, Scott Brown, Bruce Morris, Tolga Sema, Ben O’Connell, Adam Hudson, Trevor Allan and Bashir Skaf.

With just the three day one flights scheduled this year, it’s expected that the day 1C field will smash through the 3000-player barrier, taking the Main Event field well above 6000.

Day 1B chip count (top 10)

1 John Hoang (USA) 180,000
2 James Schafer (USA) 171,250
3 Vanessa Selbst (USA) 168,350
4 Anh Van Nguyen (Canada) 163,050
5 Jeff Beckley (USA) 158,550
6 Matthew Woodward (USA) 158,500
7 Cornelius Foley (Ireland) 146,875
8 Shawn Quillin (USA) 146,300
9 Jason Somerville (USA) 144,725
10 Fergal Nealon (Ireland) 141,825

Aussies through to day 2

Joseph Caruso 87,750
Grant Levy 67,150
David Steicke 66,650
Ngoc Nguyen 60,075
Cameron McNeill 54,800
John Corr 51,550
Adam Hudson 45,600
Mel Judah 44,975
Jeff Lisandro 41,300
Ben O’Connell 33,675
Kent Hunter 30,000
Oliver Speidel 28,450
Faramarz Delnawaz 25,050
Scott Brown 23,125
John Apostolidis 15,350
Aaron Lim 16,000
Daniel Attard 14,475

• Additional reporting, Nolan Dalla,

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.