WSOP: APL squad finalised for 2012 Main Event

It’s hard to believe but there are just five days until the opening event of the 2012 World Series of Poker. Meanwhile, the countdown is also on in earnest for members of the Australian Poker League’s (APL’s) TeamWSOP.

For the fourth successive year, the APL is sending a squad of its elite performers to Vegas to contest the biggest tournament on the planet – the WSOP Main Event.

The majority of the players won $17,000 TeamWSOP packages in APL Pro Open events over the past 12 months while Scott Brown earned his package after winning the APL Player of the Year title at the MAIN EVENT.

Incredibly, Trevor Allan is making his second appearance in this squad after journeying to Vegas as part of the inaugural team in 2009. Even more remarkably, his Pro Open victory came holding the same hand – K-5!

The final Team WSOP spot was decided at Penrith Panthers last Sunday when 66-year-old Bruce Morris topped a huge field of 440 players to claim the May 2012 NSW Pro Open title.

The Newcastle-based Morris emerged victorious after a torrid three-way battle with East Sydney’s Peter Gerikaytes and Mitchell Gallard, both of who will join Jon-Michael Newell in the next MAIN EVENT at Crown in September.

Having proudly followed the fortunes of APL players at the WSOP over the past four years, PMA wishes the latest batch of qualifiers all the best for their trip of a lifetime to the Rio All-Suite Hotel and Casino and the biggest poker festival on the planet!

2012 TeamWSOP squad

• Benjamin O’Connell (Queanbeyan, NSW; age 22)
• Cameron McNeill (Drummoyne, NSW; age 30)
• Adam Hudson (Drummoyne, NSW; age 40)
• Bachir Skaf (Ryde, NSW; age 29)
• Scott Brown (Launceston, Tas; age 30)
• Trevor Allan (Dubbo, NSW; age 53)
• Ngoc Thu Nguyen (Cabramatta, NSW; age 48)
• Bruce Morris (Eleebana, NSW; age 66)
• Tolga Sema (details TBC)
• Faramarz Delnawaz (details TBC)

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.