APT: Speidel a step away from a famous victory

Oliver Speidel is poised for a remarkable wire-to-wire victory in the APT Philippines Main Event as he takes the chip lead into today’s final table at Resorts World Manila.

The Manny Pacquiao World Poker Event and Aussie Millions champion won two pivotal pots against the ever-dangerous David Steicke to cement his spot at the top of the count on 831,000.
Close behind Speidel is Divan Le Roux, who is no stranger to sharing final tables with the Aussie after placing fourth in that Manny Pacquiao World Poker Event last year.

The final table resembles the United Nations with players from Australia (Speidel and Adam Monaghan), Portugal (Antonio Martins), Guam (Franklin Acfalle), South Africa (Le Roux and Conrad Coetzer) and Korea (Han Wook Kim).

Australia can also claim Steicke and Ryan Hong although they are playing under the banners of Hong Kong and China respectively while the hopes of a fourth successive win for a Filipino player lie with the sole hometown hope, Nicandro Filart.

Notables to cash included 2010 APPT Manila winner Binh Nguyen (11th), Toto Leonidas (12th), Mike Kim (13th), highest placed female Yu Kurita (14th), McLean Karr (15th) and defending champion Michael Cua (18th).

APT Philippines Main Event final table chip counts

Seat 1: David Steicke (Hong Kong) 144,000
Seat 2: Antonio Martins (Portugal) 531,000
Seat 3: Adam Monaghan (Australia) 181,000
Seat 4: Franklin Acfalle (Guam) 190,000
Seat 5: Divan Le Roux (South Africa) 787,000
Seat 6: Ryan Hong (China) 250,000
Seat 7: Conrad Coetzer (South Africa) 370,000
Seat 8 Nicandro Filart (Philippines) 224,000
Seat 9: Han Wook Kim (Korea) 302,000
Seat 10: Oliver Speidel (Australia) 831,000


1 $197,000
2 $104,000
3 $49,000
4 $37,000
5 $30,800
6 $24,600
7 $18,500
8 $12,300
9 $11,700
10 $10,450
11 Binh Nguyen (USA) $9900
12 Toto Leonidas (Philippines) $9900
13 Mike Kim (USA) $8000
14 Yu Kurita (Japan) $8000
15 McLean Karr (USA) $8000
16 Anthony Wright (Ireland) $6800
17 Mustafa Fawaz (Lebanon) $6800
18 Michael Cua (Philippines) $6800
19 Martin Elliott (UK) $6200
20 Kenneth Leong (Hong Kong) $6200
21 Grigoryev Roman (Russia) $6200
22 William Te (Philippines) $6200
23 Steve Yea (Korea) $6200
24 Norihisa Okada (Japan) $6200
25 Jefferson Macazo (Philippines) $6200
26 Sekiya Yosuke (Japan) $6200
27 SJ Kim (Korea) $6200

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.