ANZPT SYDNEY: Blaze sets field alight on way to PMA Special Event victory

Blaze Scott-Hutchinson, winner of the PMA $1k NLHE Special at The Star

After a 12-hour opening day and a final table that ebbed and flowed more than Sydney Harbour, Blaze Scott-Hutchinson has outlasted a strong 98-man field to be crowned champion of the inaugural PokerMedia Australia $1k Special at The Star, pocketing a tidy $29,400 first prize.

The 20-year-old from Ballina on the NSW far north coast is still new to bigger buy-in tournaments – spending most of his time back home playing pub poker and studying up on the tricks of the trade – but although his methods are far from orthodox they certainly proved effective against a high quality final table line-up, which started like this:

Honglin Jiang 283,500
Haibo Chu 263,500
Blaze Scott-Hutchinson 214,500
John Shin 140,000
James Tai 134,000
Zac Boustani 133,500
Michael Tran 93,500
Jim Pizanias 87,500
Chris Lee 64,500
Jackson Zheng 58,000

Scott-Hutchinson quickly set about building a monster stack as he busted Michael Tran and Haibo Chu early before nearly levelling himself as he looked for the early finish. As it turned out, finishing off the short stacks was much easier said than done with a remarkable number of double-ups meaning four hours passed before the field was reduced from five to four.

At one stage Scott-Hutchinson found himself crippled with just over 100,000 in front with four players remaining, but two quick double-ups that were quickly followed up by a huge pot to bust Zac Boustani saw him regain his composure and go on to take the title.

Entering heads-up play with James Tai facing a 400,000 chip deficit, he scored a huge double-up on the first hand, gave some back on the second, levelled the playing field on the third and then busted his rival on the fourth when he rivered a King holding K-J to Tai’s A-10.

Incredibly, he has now cashed for $8000 and $29,400 in his only two bigger buy-in tournaments. And it wasn’t easy going here at The Star with the 98 that saw down at the tables yesterday including the likes of Daniel Neilson, Jason Gray, Grant Levy, Tom Rafferty, Peter Aristidou and Tony Hachem.

The ANZPT Sydney preliminary schedule continues at The Star today with $550 NLHE Six-handed Event (12.30pm) and the $440 NLHE Teams Event (6.15pm).

ANZPT Sydney Event 2: $1100 PokerMedia Australia No Limit Hold’em Special Event results

1 Blaze Scott-Hutchinson $29,400
2 James Tai $19,600
3 John Shin $14,210
4 Zac Boustani $9310
5 Honglin Jiang $6860
6 Jim Pizanias $5145
7 Chris Lee $4410
8 Haibo Chu $3675
9 Michael ‘Pokerlife’ Tran $2940
10 Jackson Zheng $2450

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.