WPPT: Bain, Nguyen lead GC field heading into final table

Tristan Bain’s remarkable run in the WPPT Gold Coast Main Event continued on day three with the Melburnian set to lead the field into tomorrow’s final table at Jupiters Hotel and Casino in Broadbeach.

It’s an impressive line-up for the tour’s first final table in Australia, with Bain (who lead the field after day one and two, pictured left) leading highly rated Queenslander Minh Nguyen, fresh from his 16th placed finish in the recent Aussie Millions Main Event. Those two players hold more than 60 per cent of the chips in play and lead the next closest player by almost one million in chips.

Other players still in contention for the title include 2010-11 Australian Poker Hall of Fame inductee Leo Boxell, popular veteran Graeme “Kiwi G” Putt, experienced local player Duncan McKinnon and Jack Drake, who won last year’s ANZPT Darwin Main Event.

Already one of the nation’s most respected online players, Nguyen underlined his determination to win his first major live title by taking down a massive pot on the bubble. After he raised to 17,000 pre-flop, Jack Drake made it 40,000 and Nguyen called.

The flop fell 10c-Jc-7h, Drake bet 51,000 but Minh had other ideas and re-raised to 115,000. Drake bumped it to 250,000 before Nguyen announced “all-in”. After some time Drake elected to keep his powder dry and folded. Bain collected the bubble scalp of Jeremy Simon after his pocket sevens improved to a set against A-10.

Those who fell short of the money after being KOed on day three included Jackson Zheng, Milan Gurung, George Moussa, Liam O’Rourke, Peter Aristidou and David Gorr. Janette Phillips was the highest placed female finisher, placing 18th.

Tomorrow’s (Sunday’s) final table starts at 11am, with a $550 NLH Deep Stack event kicking-off at 11.30am. Keep an eye on the WPPT’s Facebook page for all the latest action from Jupiters.

WPPT Gold Coast Main Event chip count & payouts

Tristan Bain 1,654,000
Minh Hau Nguyen 1,453,000
Leo Boxell 517,000
Mick Glen 343,000
Bryan Peak 342,000
Graeme Putt 246,000
Kelsey Hendriks 195,000
Duncan McKinnon 158,000
Jack Drake 135,000

10 Eric Sclavos $8080
11 Hung Tu Wang $6464
12 Kent Hunter $6464
13 Nicholas Nicolaou $6464

Final table payouts

1 $84,032
2 $54,944
3 $37,168
4 $30,704
5 $24,240
6 $21,008
7 $17,778
8 $14,544
9 $11,312

• Pic courtesy of WPPT

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.