NZ POKER: Kevin Clark wins SKYCITY Auckland Anniversary title

Media release

After a gruelling final day in the 2012 SKYCITY Auckland Anniversary Poker Champs, Kevin Clark from Auckland’s North Shore ended a long run of second-place finishes to claim the title from fellow hometown player Sam Ruha, collecting NZD $44,100 for his efforts.

The SKYCITY Auckland Anniversary Poker Champs attracted 150 players over three day one flights, with 71 players returning for day two. Players fell thick and fast on day two with play wrapping up one the final table was decided.

It took just three hours to slash the field to a final six, and another hour before the heads-up combination was decided. With Clark in possession of the majority of chips his confidence was sky-high and on the final hand, it was Clark’s Ac-9s against Ruha’s Kh-Qs.

The cards fell in Clark’s favour with the board of As-7s-Ah-Jh giving Clark trip aces and his biggest tournament cash since he placed fourth in the 2009 APPT Cebu Main Event. For information on SKYCITY Auckland’s next poker tournament go to

SKYCITY Auckland Anniversary Poker Champs Main Event (150 players) final table payouts ($NZD)

1 Kevin Clark (Auckland) $44,100
2 Sam Ruha (Auckland) $28,650
3 Kani Edwards (Rotorua) $16,950
4 Robert Pichard (Auckland) $13,650
5 Sam Williams (Hamilton) $11,400
6 Mark Willkopf (Auckland) $7050
7 Kevin Peters (Auckland) $5850
8 Lopi Faleata (Auckland) $4650
9 Hone Morrison (Rotorua) $4050

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.