AUSSIE MILLIONS: Middleton crushes final table on way to Six-max win

Poker’s version of the Balmy Army was out in force to cheer on England’s Tom hitthehole Middleton on his way to capturing the Aussie Millions $1100 NLHE Six-handed title. The prolific online pro from Yorkshire denied popular Sydneysider Joel Dodds his debut major live tournament title after a dominant display at the final table.

A huge field of 385 players, including a big line-up of internationals as more players landed in Melbourne, was whittled down to 18 on the opening day with WA’s Craig Cockburn leading South African Kosta Mamaliadis and Austria’s Stefan Jedlicka.

It was three Aussies taking on three internationals at the final table with Cockburn, Dodds and Peter Skouteris battling Middleton, Mamaliadis and another South African, Ben Lingenfelder, for the title.

In convincing fashion, Middleton tore a swathe through the final table, eliminating all five of his rivals, to secure the first prize within two hours. It was the fourth Aussie Million cash for Dodds, with two of the four coming in the Main Event.

Other notables to cash in this event included Antonis ‘Toothpick Tony’ Kambouroglou (12th), 2011 Aussie Millions Main Event seventh-place finisher Chris Moorman (20th), Joe Hachem (27th), Jackie Glazier (28th, her third cash of the series) and 2010 Aussie Millions Main Event winner Tyron Krost (34th).

2012 Aussie Millions Event 5: $1100 No Limit Hold’em Six-max (385 players; total prizepool AUD $385,000; 36 players paid) results

1 Tom Middleton (UK) $84,220
2 Joel Dodds $58,135
3 Peter Skouteris $40,450
4 Craig Cockburn $30,800
5 Kosta Mamaliadis (South Africa) $23,100
6 Ben Lingenfelder (South Africa) $15,400
7 Xin Zhao $9625
8 Stefan Jedlicka (Austria) $6970
9 Darren Kramer (South Africa) $6970
10 Jeremy Cleaver $6970
11 Ben Richardson $6970
12 Antonis Kambouroglou $6970
13 Tomi Aalto (Finland) $5390
14 Brian Roberts (USA) $5390
15 Nino Marotta $5390
16 Tony Kondevski $5390
17 Greg Tucker (South Africa) $5390
18 Tanya Puppa $5390
19 Jing Zhang (China) $4155
20 Chris Moorman (UK) $4155
21 Peter Ling $4155
22 Daniel Hayes $4155
23 Nali Kaselias $4155
24 Jan Suchanek (New Zealand) $4155
25 Andrej Senic $3115
26 Jarrod Glennon $3115
27 Joe Hachem $3115
28 Jackie Glazier $3115
29 Jesse McKenzie $3115
30 Chris Jeppsson (Sweden) $3115
31 Manuel Rodrigues $2080
32 Robert Spano $2080
33 Elisabeth Buisson $2080
34 Tyron Krost $2080
35 Vesko Zmukic $2080
36 Deryk Law (Canada) $2080

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.