AUSSIE MILLIONS: Lim mixes it up to secure NLHE/PLO crown

Western Australia is on the board at the Aussie Millions after Aaron Lim’s victory in the first mixed event on the 2012 schedule – the $1100 buy-in No Limit Hold’em and Pot Limit Omaha rotation event. The battle for the title started with the chip count as follows:

Casey Kastle 315,000
Ali Ghezelbash 236,000
Dean Francis 228,000
Aaron Lim 205,500
Cheng Lui 199,500
Michael Benvenuti 137,500
Sam Vakili 102,500
Eric Sclavos 100,000
Khiem Nguyen 68,500

Lim, who final-tabled the ANZPT Perth Main Event last year and placed fourth, defeated Sydney’s Ali Ghezelbash after taking a massive lead into their heads-up duel.

Well known poker identity Casey Kastle had started the final table with the chip lead and was poised for a serious run at his first Aussie Millions title after placing third and eighth in events last year. However, he failed to find much traction and bowed out seventh. Eric Sclavos and Cheng Lui both collected their second cash and final table for the 2012 Aussie Millions.

2012 Aussie Millions Event 4: $1100 No Limit Hold’em/ Pot Limit Omaha (158 players; total prizepool AUD $158,000; 16 players paid) results

1 Aaron Lim $36,735
2 Ali Ghezelbash $27,255
3 Cheng Liu (China) $21,330
4 Khiem Nguyen (Germany) $16,985
5 Michael Benvenuti (USA) $13,430
6 Eric Sclavos $9480
7 Casey Kastle (USA) $7110
8 Dean Francis $5135
9 Sam Vakili $3950
10 Brian Hull $2370
11 Vince Moro $2370
12 Daniel Kelly $2370
13 Tu Thanh Le $2370
14 Jason Pritchard $2370
15 Daniel Neilson $2370
16 Matthew Konnecke $2370

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.