AUSSIE MILLIONS: Last chance for players to earn Opening Event day 2 berth

Players are just about to hit the felt for the final of the three day one flights in the 2012 Aussie Millions Poker Championship $1100 No Limit Hold’em Opening Event.

For some, they’re hoping it will be a case of third time lucky thanks to the re-repechage format of this event that allows players to re-enter if eliminated from day 1A or 1B.

Others will be out to build their stacks by rebuying today and adding more chips under the unique conditions of this traditional opener to the Aussie Millions.

Day 1A on Thursday night attracted a field of 274 players and after 12 40-minute levels, just 34 remained. According to, the chip leader was Tam Truong on 209,000 with others to progress including Joel Dodds (139,700), 2011 WSOPE bracelet winner Andrew Hinrichsen (81,500), Grant Levy (72,900), Jackie Glazier (68,300) and Michael Guttman (63,400).

Just hours later, day 1B kicked-off with a handful of players trying their luck for a second time. The field tallied 251 players but only 32 survived the eight hours of play.

Crown regular Sammy Youssef topped the chip count on 240,000 with others assured a day two start including Brendon Rubie (148,000), Mike Comer (132,600), Billy Jordanou (109,500), Simon Morris (102,400), Tamara Volkoff (102,400), Martin Comer (96,000), Jie Gao (90,800), Matt Wakeman (88,300), Aaron Benton (72,200), defending champion Martin Drewe (40,900), Matthew Pearson (35,800) and a pair of Aussie Hall of Famers Mel Judah (27,400) and Gary Benson (24,000).

The Crown Poker Room is packed to the core for day 1C with the line-up set to feature Kenna James, Leo Boxell, Jeff Rossiter, 2011 November Niner Sam Holden, Jonathan Karamalikis, Simon Watt, Daniel Neilson, Peter Aristidou, Daniel Kelly and reigning Main Event champion David Gorr.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.