STAR POKER: Summer Series six-handed and teams event champions decided

After dominating the early stages of the Opening Event but falling short of the final table, Nabil Edgtton went all the way to claim victory in the Star Poker Summer Series $660 buy-in Six-handed No Limit Hold’em event. Edgtton, a player to watch on the local poker scene, defeated 2007 APPT Sydney fifth-placed finisher Jai Kemp heads-up.

The field of 100 players attracted the strongest line-up of the Series so far, which was reflected in the final table that included Edgtton, Kemp, William Skountzos, David Allen, Andrew Lock and Australian Poker Hall of Fame member Mel Judah.

Edgtton’s victory was confirmed when he raised over the top of Kemp’s initial bump. Kemp, trailling Edgtton about 2:1 in chips, shoved all-in for his last 300,000 and Edgtton made the call. It was Ah-Jh for Edgtton against the Qc-4s of Kemp, with ace-high good enough after the board flowed 5s-Kh-9d-8s-Kd. Alan Bustany collected his second cash of the series in ninth.

Star Poker Summer Series Event 6: $660 Six-handed No Limit Hold’em (100 players; 12 players paid; total prizepool $60,000) payouts

1 Nabil Edgtton $16,350
2 Jai Kemp $10,950
3 William Skountzos $8400
4 David Allen $5700
5 Andrew Lock $4200
6 Mel Judah $3150
7 Michael Ryan $2250
8 Michel Bousskila $2250
9 Alan Bustany $2250
10 Alexander Lines $1500
11 Stephen Donlon $1500
12 Ross Stevenson $1500

• In last night’s other event, John Kasbarian and Mark Alati defeated 82 other teams to pocket the $9960 first prize as Star Poker Summer Series Teams Event champions. Naz Sibaei went within a whisker of a second Summer Series title, finishing runner-up with Manuel Rodrigues while Trevor and Nick Williams finished third.

Star Poker Summer Series Event 7: $440 No Limit Hold’em Teams Event (83 teams; 10 teams paid; total prizepool $33,200) payouts

1 John Kasbarian & Mark Alati $9960
2 Naz Sibaei & Manuel Rodrigues $6640
3 Trevor Williams & Nicholas Williams $4814
4 Guangan Yu & partner $3154
5 Jasper Brown & Adam Dow $2324
6 Adam Cosgrove & Mitchell English $1743
7 Chris Giannakelos & partner $1494
8 David Mason & partner $1245
9 Warwick Mirzikinian & Eric Assadourian $996
10 Jordan Jenkins & Peter Zorbas $830

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.