STAR POKER: Ghezelbash tops count heading into Sydney Special final table

The Star Poker Room was packed to capacity on Sunday as the first Summer Series really started to heat up with 108 entrants for the $1100 Sydney Special No Limit Hold’em event.

The field included Sheldon Mayer, Barry Forrester, Daniel Neilson, Antonis “Toothpick Tony” Kambouroglou and Star Poker ambassadors Grant Levy and Aaron Benton but all fell short of the money.

The chase for a slice of the $108,000 prizepool stalled on the money bubble, with 90 minutes passing until the pocket jacks of Aussie poker stalwart Sam Khouiss sent Brendan Townsend to the rail in 13th. Two other players – 2010 Sydney Champs Main Event winner Andrew Capelin and Richard Allen were eliminated before play was halted for the night, with the top 10 returning to decide the title in the Oasis Lounge at 4pm today (Monday).

The chip leader is 2010 Melbourne Champs High Stakes champion Ali Ghezelbash holds the chip lead ahead of Roni Habib and 2008 APPT Sydney champion Martin Rowe. Last year’s Melbourne Champs main Event winner Todor Kondevski and Khouiss are also still in the hunt for the title and the first prize of just under $30,000.

Star Poker Summer Series Event 3: $1100 Sydney Special No Limit Hold’em (108 players; 12 players paid; total prizepool $108,000) day 1 chip count & payouts

1 Ali Ghezelbash 421,500
2 Roni Habib 243,500
3 Martin Rowe 233,500
4 Fady Alam 184,500
5 Alec Smith 165,500
6 Paul Elliott 103,500
7 Mark Griffiths 77,500
8 Todor Kondevski 73,500
9 Sam Khouiss 72,500
10 Alan Davis 59,000

11 Richard Allen $2430
12 Andrew Capelin $2430

© PokerMedia Australia 2011

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.