APPT MACAU: Rossiter poised for run at second title in as many weeks

Jeff Rossiter (pictured left) remains in contention for a remarkable double heading into the final day of the APPT Macau Main Event at the Grand Lisboa Hotel and Casino. Rossiter, who was third in the 2011 Aussie Millions Main Event, won the Joe Hachem Deep Stack Series Main Event at Crown last Sunday and is sixth in chips with 15 players still chasing the final APPT title of the year

APPT media co-ordinator Garry Gates reported that roughly 85 per cent of the players who started the day joined the rail, with the day three chip leader Sangeeth Mohan from India (2,423,000). Kai Yat Fam from Singapore is a close second with 2,358,000 in chips. Two other Aussies – Josh Barrett and Hong Kong-based David Steicke, are also still in the hunt for the title.

Reigning APPT Macau champ Victorino Torres cashed once again this year in 36th place, earning HKD $70,000. His brother Vincent also made the trip and finished in 22nd place, earning HKD $93,300. The chip leader at the start day three, Singapore native Nathaniel Seet was eliminated from the tournament in 38th place (HKD $70,000).

Ten-time WSOP bracelet winner Johnny Chan exited the tournament in 60th place (HKD $46,700). Other notable day three casualties include former APPT Sydney Grand Final champ Grant Levy (25th, HKD $77,800), Terrence Chan (56th, HKD $51,300), Andrew Scott (61st, HKD $46,700) and Julian Powell (69th, HKD $46,700).

The remaining 15 players in the field are competing for their share of the HKD $15,552,600 prizepool. The top 70 places are scheduled to be paid, with first set to receive HKD $3,772,000 (approximately $483,000 USD).

APPT Macau day 3 chip count

Sangeeth Mohan (India) 2,423,000
Kai Yat Fam (Singapore) 2,358,000
Jimmy Pan (Netherlands) 1,586,000
Zuo Wang (China) 1,511,000
Fabian Spiedelmann (Germany) 1,425,000
Jeffrey Rossiter (Australia) 1,173,000
Josh Barrett (Australia) 1,013,000
Ivan Tan (Singapore) 985,000
David Steicke (Hong Kong) 886,000
Randy Lew (Canada) 845,000
Hans Daniel Nordstrom (Sweden) 786,000
Dao Xing Chen (China) 672,000
Tsugunari Toma (Japan) 635,000
Baton Fung (Hong Kong) 338,000
Sparrow Cheung (Hong Kong) 238,000

Payouts for Australian players ($HKD)

25 Grant Levy (Australia) $77,800
40 Scott Calcagno (Australia) $70,000
55 Clifford Bruce (Australia) $51,300
61 Andrew Scott (Australia) $46,700
68 Joey Masangcay (Australia) $46,700
69 Julian Powell (Australia) $46,700

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.