APPT MACAU: 34 Aussies return for day 2

The largest ever field for an APPT event has assembled at the Grand Lisboa Hotel and Casino in Macau for the season 5 finale, with the final tally of 575 players surpassing the 561 players who contested the season 1 Grand Final in Sydney.

APPT media co-ordinator Garry Gates reported that the day 1B field was teeming with familiar faces, headlined by none other than two-time WSOP Main Event winner Johnny Chan. Former APPT Macau Main Event champions Dinh Le (2007), Eddy Sabat (2008) and last year’s winner, Victorino Torres (2010) were in action. Le and Torres made it through to day 2, with 64,800 and 47,000 in chips respectively while Sabat was eliminated during the last level of play.

Chieh Su Shih from Chinese Taipei finished atop the chip count for day 1B with 171,800. The remaining 304 players in the field (155 from day 1A and 149 from day 1B) will be competing for a share of the HKD $15,552,600 prizepool. The top 70 places are scheduled to be paid, with first set to receive HKD $3,772,000 (approximately USD $483,000). A total of 34 Australians will also be back for day 2.

APPT Macau day 1 chip count (top 10)

Chieh Su Shih (Chinese Taipei) 171,800
Jun Sha (China) 169,400
Daniel Francis (New Zealand) 154,100
Bryan Huang (Singapore) 154,100
Carlos Chang (Chinese Taipei) 147900
Andrew Ong (Malaysia) 145,900
Daniel Chua (Singapore) 145,900
Fabian Spiedelmann (Germany) 142,800
Erdenebold Begzjav (Mongolia) 142400
Ivan Tan (Singapore) 141,000

Aussies who survived day 1

Grant Levy 111,200
Jeffrey Rossiter 104,900
Zhi Hong Ma 97,300
Julian Powell 89,100
Scott Calcagno 81,600
Josh Barrett 70,800
Thomas Corr 70,300
Jie Gao 58,100
Hun Wei Lee 56,200
Michael Kanaan 55,900
Clifford Bruce 48,700
Jaimie Faux 47,800
Joey Masangcay 45,000
Craig Cockburn 44,500
Joel Dodds 43,900
Andrew Scott 41,200
Perry Michael 36,700
Samuel Paisley 34,700
Raemin Alexander 34,200
Frank Bianco 33,400
Alvin Wei-xiang Cheam 31,100
Kyle Cheong 26,800
David Allan 25,700
Tom Dellas 25,000
Benjamin Gilholme 23,500
Antonio Di Salvio 22,400
Jacky Wang 22,000
Kent Hunter 17,900
David Felton 17,600
Yi Zhang 17,600
Mishel Anunu 16,200
Jason Lee 13,300
John Corr 12,400
Steve Leonard 11,900

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.