ADELAIDE CHAMPS: Teams turn out in force for opening event

A big tournament series always brings out the crowds and it was a full house in the Poker Zone for the opening night of the Adelaide Casino Poker Championship.

With a big contingent in town for event two on the schedule, the Australian Deaf Poker Championships, the excitement was palpable as the first players took to the felt for the series opener, the $150 Teams Event.

After a tense evening and a final table in which the chip lead regularly changed hands, Mathew Laird and Ryan Boswell emerged victorious to claim the first prize of $2280. Their victory over Eugene Juczenko and Vince Moro was confirmed when their pocket fours held up against K-9 on a threatening board of 8-Q-J-J-7.

The Adelaide Casino Poker Championship schedule features 13 events and six satellites over nine days. Highlights include Poker Industry events, a Ladies Hold’em event and a ‘Triple Chance’ event where the winner will be honoured with naming rights (for a similar tournament).

And don’t forget Wednesday’s Karamalikis Cup (named in honour of young Aussie poker champion and Adelaide’s won Jonathan Karamalikis). It’s a No Limit Hold’em Six-Handed event with a buy-in of $2750, starting stack of 20,000 and 30-minute levels. The series culminates in the $1500 Adelaide Casino Poker Championship Main Event, which starts on Thursday.

Event 1: $150 No Limit Hold’em Teams Event (50 teams; six teams paid; total prizepool $6000)

1 Mathew Laird/Ryan Boswell $2280
2 Eugene Juczenko/Vince Moro $1320
3 Vlado Adzaip/Maya Doyle $900
4 Allan Rye/Fabio Cappai $660
5 Mike Sulacius/Jeanette May $480
6 Craig Ivey/Cathy Ivey $360

For the rest of the Adelaide Poker Championship schedule, click here

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.