WESTERN CLASSIC: A pair of Johns proves unbeatable

The latest Western Classic winners – John Delvecchio (left) and John Aufdemkampe

The short-handed format of the game is arguably the most popular, so it was only appropriate that a six-handed event was included on the Western Classic schedule for the first time in 2011.

Players voted with their feet, with a top quality line-up of 41 players chasing a slice of a tasty pie worth more than $20,000. Despite the vast experience of the field, it was unsung local John Aufdemkampe who emerged victorious to claim his maiden major title.

It was a similar story in the $300 No Limit Hold’em event where another first-time champion, John Delvecchio, emerged victorious over a big field of 110 to pocket the lion’s share of the prizepool worth more than $30,000. Amazingly, both players won with the same finishing hand – a nut flush of hearts!

Event 3: $330 Western Classic No Limit Hold’em (110 players; 11 players paid; total prizepool $31,900)

1 John Delvecchio $10,150

2 Steve Mathews $6300

3 Michael Lipari $4300

4 Alvin Cheam $3200

5 Andres Abakanov $2300

6 Ross Coveney $1700

7 Michael Webb $1200

8 Gary Lightfoot $800

9 Joseph Darcy $650

10 Rob Mathias $650

11 Con Kamaros $650

Event 4: $550 Western Classic Six-Handed No Limit Hold’em (41 players; five players paid; total prizepool $20,090)

1 John Aufdemkampe $8090

2 Ben Breadsell $4600

3 Tom Donaldson $3200

4 Craig Cockburn $2400

5 Teddy Nguyen $1800

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.